Twice Cooked Baked Potato

IMG_5344.JPG

Above: Twice Cooked Baked Potato Recipe!

Recently, I made one of my favorite Potato side dishes, Twice Baked Potato: Baked potato, with melty cheese, and bacon bits inside.


Fairly easy to make, and absolutely NOT the most healthy. BUT, so YUM on a cold blustery night. I am sitting here, listening to frozen ice crystals hitting the window, as I type this. and nothing better than a toasty, tasty treat, to eat, on a blustery cold and icy night.

IMG_5333.JPG

Above: Cook you baked potato at 450ºF (235ºC) for about 50 minutes, to an hour. Once done cooking, slice the tops off, as thin as possible, leaving LOTS of good potato inside.
Below: Scooop out much of the potato into a bowl. TRY to leave the skin intact so you have a little potato bowl, left.

IMG_5334.JPG

IMG_5336.JPG


I had 4 people, eating a potato each, so I cooked up 5 slices of Bacon. One to be chopped up for each baked potato, and one for the chef to insure quality control during the cooking process.

IMG_5337.JPG

Above: Bacon Bits into the bowl, with scooped potato!
Below: Added lots of shredded cheese. I use a 4 cheese Mexican blend.

IMG_5338.JPG


IMG_5339.JPG

Above: MIX the potato, bacon and cheese, thoroughly.
Below:Scoop the Potato blend back into the empty baked Potato Bowls. ONTO a tray and back into the oven for another 5 to 10 minutes to melt the cheese. Trust me, the tray helps catch any melting cheese and makes cleaing up a LOT easier.

IMG_5340.JPG

IMG_5341.JPG

After about 5-10 minutes, the cheese is melted, and the tops crispy crunchy, yummy Twice Baked Potato!

IMG_5343.JPG



If you follow me, you know I prefer to grow my own food for my family and friends.You probably also know, my love language seems to be serving. For my family and friends, that means, cooking and serving them healthy, locally grown food, whenever and wherever I can. Local food has a much lower impact on our local, national, and global environment.

And that makes me smile... better for the planet, better for my own family.



Do you have mid winter awesome goodness recipes? What's your favorite way to cook potato?

Let me know below in the comments...



Show me your garden!
Leave me a comment, below...
and a link to your #GroVid22 garden!

It's time to take control of your own food supply,
your own health and your own lives.

The GroVid22 Challenge:
Grow Your OWN is not just a simple short challenge,
it's about taking control of your future!

Happy Gardening and Cheers,
BluefinStudios

All Images by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.pnghivefest-6.png

7000payout.png10500 replies.png220000upvotes.png
postallweek.pngpostallmonth.pngchristmas2018.pngXmas2021.pngXmas2022.pngpud.s3.pngverified.png

birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png4th birthday.png



Sort:  


~~~ embed:1624047426490232833 twitter metadata:MTQ5MTI5OTg2ODM5MTkxOTYyMHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xNDkxMjk5ODY4MzkxOTE5NjIwL3N0YXR1cy8xNjI0MDQ3NDI2NDkwMjMyODMzfA== ~~~

~~~ embed:1624576320104706049 twitter metadata:MzA2MzQ2Njg2MXx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8zMDYzNDY2ODYxL3N0YXR1cy8xNjI0NTc2MzIwMTA0NzA2MDQ5fA== ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ifarmgirl, @baned, @officialrosh1, @virtualgrowth ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Ooo we used to make this a lot when I was a kid! I loved it 🤩. My mom always added crispy bacon bits. Thanks for reminding me of its existence, I'll have to go get some giant potatoes for this weekend 😊🥔

I remembered them, from growing up, as I passed LARGE Potato in the store.

now you done it. I'm going to have to make some twice baked with the bacon that just came into the house

I am thinking of another batch soon!

That's looking delicious! I would love to try that out one day, glad you shared how you did it so thank you.

they are tasty. you would love them!

I trust that because potatoes are one of my fave :)

And I thought I was your Fave!

Oh you are! Potatoes are just my Fave food 😅

😇😂😊

I would add loads of chili flakes into it otherwise it would be too bland for me. Hehe

YIKES!
I would die many deaths from too much SPICE!

I made some of these not long back, different recipe but same concept. Yum, isn't sufficient to describe it! 😁

@galenkp how did you do yours?
I harvest so many, that I am always looking for new ways to do Potato.

Basically the same as yours but I had some left over stuff from having Mexican food the previous day.

I cooked them, scooped them out, mixed in the Mexican-flavoured beef, a little Mexican flavoured rice and some capsicum (red pepper), finely chopped onion and some green jalapenos then spooned that back in, topped with cheese and baked. Dolloped salsa and sour cream on top before serving and served with slaw.

It was tasty.

Very nice.
I tend to avoid too much heat when making Mexican,, but my 2 girls and my wife are ok with it. May try a Mexican themed Potato soon, for them!

I once did the same thing with some left over Thai green curry...chopped up the chicken a little smaller and then mixed the whole thing, sauce and all, into the scooped out potato, then put it back in the potato and baked until very crispy. Maybe sounds rubbish, but it was tasty. I think this could be done with almost anything I guess.

I've never managed to enjoy Curry.
More of a Middle Eastern spice type of guy. Greek, Italian, Lebanese, Turkish

I get it...I'm one who is happy to try stuff out I guess...Although there's some stuff I'd not even think about eating.

Will have to try one day…
Thanks for sharing 👋🏻😊
Have a great week further!

thanks, and enjoy your week, too!

You are welcome, will do my best! Enjoy yours 👋🏻😊
Hope you are well.

Yummy. Twice baked potatoes are a family favorite here also. We add some milk and lots of butter so the filling is almost like mashed potatoes before you start the second bake. We have been doing lots of soup lately. Especially matzah ball soup.

I've done it that way, too! Next time, I will!

Mac n Cheese Soup, and a Broccoli Cheddar were on our menu last week.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 142 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!PIZZA
8

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@pixresteemer(2/5) tipped @bluefinstudios (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Congratulations @bluefinstudios! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 240000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 250000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

@bluefinstudios, one of your Hive friends wishes you a Happy Valentine's day and asked us to give you a new badge!

Valentine's Day 2023

To find out who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Valentine's Day Challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
The Hive Gamification Proposal