"You are set in your ways..."

in #proofofbrain2 years ago

...is a phrase that I hear quite often. And yes, I am. I like to create and maintain my little (or not so little) habits, and I even have an app made more or less for me in order to follow and check the efficiency of my habits. Basically, I create my own environment, and I like this one to be comfortable.

Think about my grandparents' wisdom, which I follow to some extent. You know like never buy cheap stuff when it is related to your shoes, sleep, clothes or food. Mostly, even if sometimes I may succumb to the pressure of society (pizza, read pizza here, which I like to order from Domino, which may or may not be a fast food).

money sky.jpg

Don.t get me wrong, I am all for the changing stuff regularly when it is about the brain plasticity and stuff, like walking to work to a different path every day and so on. But in terms of side hustles, work, or similar hobbies, I join the general opinion of "If it is working, do not change it". Is this good? Is this bad? I do not know. Until proven ways are revealed to me, showing a better alternative, I am not changing easily.

What is your attitude about change? Some people say that comfort is the enemy of progress, and the only way to improve is to go out of your comfort zone. Is that true? Depends. Remember what Schopenhauer said: “Talent hits a target no one else can hit. Genius hits a target no one else can see.” Learn from the best and do your worst, as I like to say. See what it is working better than anything, and combine them with your resources and capabilities, in order to make something work for you. Use other people's knowledge and expertise, you do not need to learn both violin and guitar, in order to see which one you like to use. Listen to the best, and see what makes you tick. (I chose guitar during COVID19 quarantine, yeah, and I learn 2-3 songs only, most of them forgotten by now). But the music theory remained in my head, and now my ear can pick stuff when I listen to music. So, somehow, I have improved. On a different level.

AAA5.jpg

Sometimes the path is hidden, sometimes it is in plain sight. Nevertheless, above comfort, there is the cardinal rule. Never stop learning. Even if you do this motivated just by the idea of living a happy, relaxed life. I was almost ready to start to talk about the last few years changes in UK life, but this is far too much to talk about in just one post. This will be a story for another time. (Hint: things are getting more complicated, compared to 2018, just to mention it).

The cold, the everlasting cold,
Will try to mold
us into respectable, listening fools.
Which ones are tools,
and which are the heroes of tomorrow?
Leave back the sorrow,
the shout in the dark,
are we ready to build the Ark?
I will contact you, all the builders, in a firesale.
I'll be at the table, with my ale.
And the moon.

(some poetry written by ...me)

What are your motivations, when it is about living the good life?

logo mgc.png