Is it easy to move from Instagram to Ecency/Hive?

in #proofofbrain11 days ago

Finally! A good friend of mine joined hive! (more about it & him after my rant)

I have been talking to friends and acquaintances about hive. (Relatives too - remember my bro?). I have even shown them my account and how it works. But after that, I have left them on their own. To do their own research and take their decisions.

But it is not always easy for someone who has a 'settled' life to try something brand new, especially when it is about certain 'term's that they cannot understand.

Some of the terms that it is not easy to grasp?

  • rewards
  • reputation
  • upvotes
  • web3
  • community
  • not to mention blockchain, wallet, earning etc
  • hp, rc and a bunch of other stuff

I am sure that my friend @learningpages understands perfectly what I mean! It takes a while for someone to learn more about hive and how they can use it.

This is why most of the people who join here, usually stay only when they can easily understand how to ask someone (or even better have a friend that they can ask on the spot)

This is also why I will create a very easy (and free) course about hive (in the coming months)


I have some ideas about what an app (i.e. @ecency) can do to new users who download it, in order to (potentially, hopefully) increase new user's retention.

My friend @mpapadomanolakis joined today.

Manos comes from Crete, Greece and he is an amazing photographer. I admire him a lot because he is always looking ahead, he has an open mind for new things and projects to try out and he was positive for trying out hive! He is a photographer and daily user of apps like Instagram. Producing long form content is not easy for him. But even so, I thought that he will be able to bring something fresh and new in our platforms!

I invited him to download @ecency app (on Android), gave some first directions and have let him time to explore - until the next time that I will share some more info with him!

His first question was: "Where do I upload a photo from?"
I told him that he should use the little 'pencil'

I told him about a title and text, and how to upload a photo - but did not tell him about communities / hashtags yet. I want him to first feel comfortable using the app.


Here are a few ideas that could help out new users!

Could ecency send the users notifications i.e.

  • Write your introductory post! Click on the pencil, use the tag introduce-yourself and let the community discover you!
  • Want to write short posts? Try out Ecency waves, by clicking on the .. waves! (left to the pencil)
  • Do you have a question? Click on 'waves' and post your question!
  • We missed you! Come check out the newest posts! (i.e. if a user has not done any action for a few days)
  • Did you know that when you upvote (upvote = like = click that arrow of up direction), both you and the user earns rewards?
  • Ecency Points! You can earn them simply by being active in-app! Check out your wallet to see how much you have. Do you know how to use them?
  • Did you know you can promote a post using your ecency points?

(And I can think of many other messages to send to the user, depending on their habits)

I think it is not always easy to start learning and participating to a brand new platform, especially if you are already an avid and successful user in other platforms. (My friend has thousand of followers on Instagram).

So we need to motivate them, give them the necessary information and guidance.

In the past, I was a proud member (and mentor) in stemsocial. When a member wanted to join, of of the mentors was with them every step of the way.

Is there a similar initiative by ecency? Imagine if someone joined and they just could reach out to a volunteer mentor! That would be amazing!

Let me know your thoughts!

Thanks for taking the time to read all this

Sort:  

!discovery 25
!PIZZA

Thank you!!
!HUG

Dear @jlinaresp, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @katerinaramm.
(2/3)

You're so right my good friend.. it actually remains a problem that it's difficult for most people to transition into a new field with things that are harder to learn...

I believe the duty is with us to explain more... I mentioned Blockchain technology and one friend couldn't even pronounce it 😂😂

Thank you!!!
I know what you mean, I always have this problem.
I feel the same way when I try to explain how things work with web3.
I feel strange and I cant understand why my friends dont go out investigating by themselves. I would feel privileged to receive such knowledge from someone.

I started researching and experimenting in 2017, and I had noone I knew to ask back then!

!HUG

Wow I'm sitting on my couch now proud for discovering Hive and meeting good friends like you... Good luck on your journey dear

Dear @theringmaster, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @katerinaramm.
(3/3)

Thank You so much dearest... !LUV

hug.bot, theringmaster sent you LUV. 🙂 (4/4) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Good ideas, we will certainly work on those 👍

Great! Please let me know if I can help 🙏

This is really helpful
Newbies face so many problems and I’m sure this could help solve part of their problems

I really hope so!

Thanks for your mention and advice while we connected on Hive and other platforms. I still have a lot to learn because most of the time, you asked, "Did you know?" My answer was "No."


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@jlinaresp(5/10) tipped @katerinaramm

Same is the case with my friends, earlier they were using other platforms in the same way, now my effort is to tell them about this platform and bring them over this platform because working here. The more hard a person works, the more the chance of success become.

Congratulations @katerinaramm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024

I beleive that I due time, we will be able to migrate data from other platforms.

Uhive, another decentralised project is already doing it.

Such questions will definitely help the new user to understand more about Hive and dive deeper into it. I think past a certain level of fundamental understanding, everything else can become easier to grasp. Also, clicking on any of these notifications could link to section of a tutorial where what's mentioned is explained in a bit more detailed manner.