Google AdSense remembered after a decade

in #proofofbrain3 years ago

img_0.6637696204244684.jpg

Google AdSense remembered after 10-12-14 years (don't even remember when I used Google ads on my websites) that they owe me $52. Or perhaps it's just a marketing campaign to bring back inactive publishers.

img_0.22912521595791158.jpg

But it's not their fault, of course not. I'm the one who must have messed up. After all, how did I get the previous payments, right?

img_0.00007291068867556757.jpg

I remember that people didn't believe me back then that I was getting paid from Google. You see they used to send you a cheque and you had to go to your bank in order to get the money. And the employees of the money would see me like an alien, calling supervisors and other bosses In order to ask for directions. And I'm not talking about high amounts, usually it was around $100-150.

A friend thought I photoshopped it and I was so mad that logged in to my account in front of him. Needless to say he was shocked and felt embarrassed and from that day, would say to others that I worked for Google, which was not true of course. And the others would again think I am not just a liar. And I had to start again trying to explain stuff that they didn't understand.

Anyway, I stopped at some point. As I said in another post, working for years on Search Engine Optimization is very stressful. Especially when working alone and not being part of a company. The funny thing is that for a few months I earned more with parked domains than the normal websites. I don't know about now, but back then Google used to charge $50 withdrawal fee, so I'm not sure what should I do. My other alternative is to spend the money on ... Google Ads as the email said. Or delete my account, win-win 😄

Image source: Google

Sort:  

After reading your post, I decided to check my Google Adsense reports.

You are right. Something appears to be going on.

Back in 2004, Google paid market rates for ads. After they acquired DoubleClick, Google was able to gain a monopoly and started dramatically undermining the publishers who used their service.

A few years ago, Google was running the dregs of its ad inventory on my sites and I was getting less than a dollar per million page views. So, I yanked their ads from my sites.

I left a few ads on some legacy pages.

I logged in and Google was suddenly paying a decent ad rate.

I think it has something to do with the lawsuits against Google. Several of the lawsuits focused on how Google undermined the publishers who foolishly ran their ads.

Personally, I wish someone would create a decent alternative to Adsense. It would not be hard to do. Unfortunately, most of the companies that go into advertising are as shady as Adsense.

There is definitely something strange going on with Google.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I guess the best alternatives are Bing and Facebook ads.

Posted via D.Buzz

I got a few checks from Google in that dollar range and I completely hear you regarding the looks from the people at the bank. It was either respect or they're thinking scam, not sure which.

Thank you for following.
I you haven't done it, please vote @yehey as one of your Witness.
Thank you.

Done.

Very much appreciated.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.