Planning the Road Trip - Part 2 - New Cooler Needed ICEMULE or RTIC

in #proofofbrain3 years ago

I "NEED" A New Cooler - Right

I mean - its a 10 day 3000 mile road trip - I clearly need a new cooler.

Ok - maybe I just want one, but either way its a reason to go out and spend frivolous amounts of money on a cooler because I think they are cool.

I am long established camping gear head. I don't even camp anymore but I still browse online at $400 jackets, and other crazy expensive gear that is worn by those who actually go camping, I don't care. Its been 20 years of my addiction and I see no need to change.

Options Options Options

Who knew there were so many options for coolers. It seems like once YETI came out and people found out you can sell a cooler for $500 and people would fall over themselves in a rush, everyone joined in. Wal-Mart, Cabela's, RTIC, YETI, ICEMULE, etc, etc, etc.

For this vacation, I am fine with hard sided coolers. While I have nothing special, we have what we need, a big heavy ICE MAX Igloo from 15 years ago, works great and lives in the back of the truck. Its a coolers cooler. Holds Ice, Can holders on top, fishing measurements on top... built like a tank but not fancy.

Backpack Coolers

I want something smaller - and soft sided for the boat, and back seat of the truck. We will be riding with 4, so size might be a pain if too big, but we can work it out. After looking around, I think I am down to two options, while I would love to be a YETI fan boy, I don't feel like spending $300 on a cooler for a name.

RTIC Backpack Cooler vs ICEMULE


image.png

I think I am down to these two... after about 2 hours of trolling around the interwebs they both seem like good options. They both have pro and cons - and not sure what direction I will go.....

Ok, lets be Honest, I am going to show these to Mrs. Senstless based on her reaction I will buy the least offensive option!

RTIC Backpack Cooler $149.99


image.png
source

Pro

  • Holds 30 cans
  • Welded Seems - 100% watrproof
  • It Floats

CONS

  • Big - 15w x 10d x 20h - Thats pretty big - will take up a lot of space and might be harder to in some travel situations.

ICEMULE PRO $114.95


image.png
source

Pros

  • Soft Sided - Smaller Size 14lx11wx17h
  • Can be rolled up for travel
  • Can add air for extra insluation?
  • Decent size - holds 18 cans and ice
  • Waterproof
  • Floats
  • No Zipper - just roll and clip.

Cons

  • No Zipper - roll and clip. Not sure if Mrs Senstless or the kids will like it.
  • Not like other coolers, its harder to make the leap and try it.
  • Less base insulation, have to add air. Not sure it holds the cold as well but reviews are all top notch.

Summary - I have no idea

I will let the family decide. I did the work to narrow it down to 2, and will see what they want for the truck and the beach. Either way we get a backpack and cooler that should be easy to carry and keep drinks cold for our time in the sun and surf.

If anyone has either one of these, let me know your thoughts, love or hate it useful to get real reviews you can trust.

~@senstless

EA5D8E61-2EDE-47E2-8E0A-CB0DDB3AE93C.gif

Sort:  

work out what a cooler costs, workout how much food at rest stops will cost you and work out how funny your kids complaining about warm drinks means to you. and you will know if it is worth it

I am getting a new cooler, using the vacation as an excuse to let myself spend. Now it's just picking one... What would you pick?

enough for 3 days food pal

I like the IceMule. My buddy has one it’s a great cooler.

Sweet!!!

I was learning that way but hard to tell without putting hands on. mrs. senstless said the choice is mine, so I might be ordering it tonight.

We’ve used it hiking a bunch, stuff stays ice cold. You’ll like it.