You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LET'S TALK ABOUT THIS DOWNVOTE BULLSHIT

in #proofofbrain3 years ago

This is a problem I aim to 'solve' one way or another.

I am concentrating my efforts regarding this issue on Layer 2. I have a Layer 2 alternative that I am excited about. I still need to accumulate about 3000 more BEE, plus a little bit of dev work, before it will be ready to launch (I hope to be able to launch within a few weeks).

My Layer 2 alternative won't fix the Layer 1 problem, but it will allow folks like yourself the freedom to interact and earn crypto from like-minded content creators and curators. Those who are not like-minded, or who just don't like you or your content, will be free to ignore you, but will not be able to affect your rewards. And, because of the censorship-resistance features of Layer 1, any followers you accumulate while interacting via my Layer 2 alternative will still be following you if you decide to shift (or expand) your engagement to some other Layer 2 tribe.

Also, FWIW, it will be complementary to the Proof of Brain tribe. What I mean by that is, if my Layer 2 solution is successful, it will likely increase the popularity of the POB tribe and increase the market price of the POB token. The mechanism as to why I expect that to happen will be spelled out in the White Paper, which will be published at launch.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Hi @trostparadox,

What is actually meant by layers 1 and 2, I don't understand the terms and as often as I have read them here and there, the explanation still escapes me. Can you explain it to me in words that even a child could understand?

Also my questions, such as whether features as I once knew them either no longer exist or were never installed. The first is "how many eyes read a post" (that used to be a feature, but was simply eliminated one day), the second is "guest posts on the platform without having an account yourself". I keep asking people, but don't get any answers. Do you know them or do you know someone who might?

Thank you and greetings

What is actually meant by layers 1 and 2

Layer 1 is anything that occurs directly on the Hive blockchain. With respect to rewards, any rewards in HIVE or HIVE Power or HBD are Layer 1 rewards. Their issuance and distribution are governed by the code running on the Layer 1 nodes, which are controlled by the witnesses. It takes an affirmative vote by 17 of the top 20 witnesses to change that code.

Layer 2 is anything occurring "off chain". Within the context of my above comment, the Layer 2 solutions I am referring to occur on the Hive-Engine blockchain. Currently, H-E is the only active Layer 2 chain. However, the soon-to-be-launched SPK Network will provide another Layer 2 chain.

At the present, tokens on Hive are either the aforementioned Layer 1 tokens (HIVE, HIVE Power, HBD) or Layer 2 H-E tokens, like LEO, POB, STEM, BEE, APE, SWAP.HIVE, etc., etc.

With Layer 2 tokens, the creator of the token controls EVERYTHING associated with that token. As such, each token is 100% centralized. With that said, the token issuer can opt to implement a 'decentralized' governance structure. However, at any moment in time, the issuer of that Layer 2 token can unilaterally 'take back control' of everything associated with that token, except for a few token parameters that are 'set in stone' when the token is created, like the max supply.

Thank you, now I understand about the layers.

What is meant by "H-E" and "SPK Network"?

H-E is short for Hive-Engine (the current Layer 2 blockchain).

SPK Network is another Layer 2 blockchain that will be launching in the next couple months.

Thank you again. I understood its another layer and you will reveal later the long form of what SKP means. :) I will wait with curiosity.

Yes some pretty concerning issues that I am glad people like you are aware of! Hopefully, this is where community proposals can help with a second layer token front end, of course driven by people with the longevity of the project/token in mind.

Too bad you didn't follow me, I was offering 2000 BEE to anyone who would match me to make Hive more interoperable and decentralized from the top 20 witnesses.

No one cared, so I offered to make a coffee token and just ended up dividing people who all want to be "Hive Coffee" but under a different name...

I'm really happy to hear this and am keen to support your plan.