New Auction Finds

in #proofofbrain2 years ago

I have posted in the past about my newfound love affair with online auction houses. It started with antique phonographs and has not yet ebbed. Over the weekend I was looking at some new auctions, ostensibly for Easter gifts (and the two birthdays we celebrate in April) and found some goodies for everyone.

First up is that wonderful old Airline chairside radio/phonograph combination.

20220221_220904.jpg

This is, obviously, powered by electricity, and not a crank and spring motor like my other antique phonographs. The radio looks to be AM only and definitely makes sound, though I was not able to actually pick up a radio station with it. It'll likely need an antenna for that, and I haven't looked much at the inside yet. The phonograph turntable spins, but sound does not come out of the speaker. Drat! This is the second electric phonograph I have with the same problem. Time to do some research.

20220221_220912.jpg

I do not like this current colour. At all. I will have this corrected. I'll sand it down and probably stain it, or I'll do something really campy and horrible with it, but it won't stay this gross yellow colour. No.

20220221_220928.jpg

There were also these Motion Computing tablets that I picked up. Motion Computing was a big player in the health-care/mobile-computing area about 10-15 years ago. They were purchased in 2015 and continue to exist, but these all were made prior to that company sale. So, they're not new, and they did not come with power supplies, but I have discovered that eBay has some in abundance.

20220221_221027.jpg

20220221_221114.jpg

20220221_220942.jpg

There are four different models in all, one of which came with a dock. The back of the dock has USB ports, an Ethernet port, and a VGA port. Yes, VGA. No HDMI for this puppy. This was built around the time of the dodo bird, after all.

All of these tablets came with a stylus. According to wikipedia they support multiple pressure points and the experience is similar to drawing on paper. If so, despite the age of them, it might encourage me to do some more cartooning.

For one of the boys I found this metal print of the Justice League. I was going to save it for Easter but... meh. I was feeling generous. He likes it, so that's a victory.

20220221_221637.jpg

Not pictured are two items that my youngest claimed and vanished with: one is an old Nokia PDA. Back in the day, when mobile phones were only phones, there were such things as PDA, or Personal Digital Assistants. This Nokia PDA is also a media player, which the boy is loving. Except for the fact that it does not play .mov files.

The same boy also disappeared with an XBox 360, then reappeared when he couldn't plug it in. Alas, the power cord that it came with is not the correct power cord. Now that's just murder for the poor child, having this new system (a $5 win, btw!) just sit on the floor. I suppose I'll need to hunt down a power cord now.

All in all, a good auction for me!


(c) All images and photographs, unless otherwise specified, are created and owned by me.
(c) Victor Wiebe


About Me

Sometimes photographer. Wannabe author. Game designer. Nerd. 
General all around problem-solver and creative type.

Creator of What I Learned Today Hive community: https://peakd.com/c/hive-131257/created


Blind Skeleton

Online Radio: https://victorwiebe.com/radio_wiebe
Friday Night Concert: 6:00pm EST

Blind Skeleton.jpeg

Sort:  

About the .mov files... He can just convert them to another format : )

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

What do you call a row of people lifting a giant mozzarella?
A cheesy pickup line.

Credit: reddit
@wwwiebe, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wrestlingdesires
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ.
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(2/6)

@wwwiebe! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Wow! Score! Oh, that yellow has gotta go!

You can call some thrift shops for the cords. Many times they have some that they don't have the game for. :)

There are a couple of auction houses that I found are less than stellar. You bid on something that doesn't look quite as good as it did in the picture. I guess that is everywhere, but, I found it insulting to be hoodwinked at an online auction. Silly me. I thought you got what you paid for.

You certainly do well at them! Good for you! It is a talent! :) You know, good to have, in case that IT thing doesn't work out.

Goodnight from here.

What a cool collection of auction wins I do agree that yellow has to go

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(4/15) tipped @wwwiebe (x1)

Join us in Discord!