You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Super Cool Science Book Publishing Crowdfund Proposal Post!

in #proposal3 years ago

This amount for a vanity project is way too much. You're asking us to pay you $43.75 per hour to write a book that you will keep all of the profits from?

The Decentralized Hive Fund is for the development and improvement of Hive. I wish you the best with your book. I just don't see how your book will improve Hive. I also don't see how us funding your book will improve your skills as an author. Risk-free writing sounds like a recipe for mediocrity.

Sort:  

Honestly, you're absolutely right, and hearing it in a rational way makes be second guess it. I knew it was a big ask, and tried to explain the benefits, but reading it all from someone else's perspective does sound different.

You're right about risk free writing creating mediocrity, too, and maybe it's best I wait until I've got it completely written, and simply credit myself for making it all possible.

I had moments where I thought this could be a bit too much, and this being the first feedback only confirms it. I've taken down the proposal and will continue writing the series the same way I always have.

I really hope I wasn't too discouraging. And I do hope that your book will be a success. I like your articles and think they would be perfect for a book. With the popularity of STEM these days, I'd imagine there's a good sized market for it.

If extra funding is needed for the final push to publication, I wonder if a more traditional crowd-funding model would be more appropriate. Maybe it could be structured like a pre-sale.

I was looking for a Hive crowd-funder, but Buymeberries is the closest I could find on hiveprojects.io.