Core development proposal year 5

in #proposal16 days ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

I have had the pleasure of working on Hive for three incredible years, and I am grateful for the support you have all given me. And I would like to carry on working as a core developer and contributing to Hive for a fifth year.

Who am I

WEB-Martin-Lees-Photographer-Ruben-Cress-01.jpg

I have been on this chain for more than 7 years now.
I went from regular blogging, to contributing to open source on hive to building dapps and running a top 20 witness (@steempress). I became much more involved in core development when we forked away from Steem, rising up to the occasion as we needed every manpower we could get to birth the chain. I contributed to the soft fork that locked Justin sun's funds and later the very first hard fork that created hive. Ever since, I've been working on hive as a core developer contributing to hive and hivemind implementing sensible requests from the community.

If you're interested in my full journey I made a throwback post retracing most of my activities on steem then hive here: https://peakd.com/hive/@howo/my-hive-story

Notable examples of my work

If "core development" does not ring a bell to you here's two features that I shipped to give you an idea:

Recurrent transfers

Before if you wanted to subscribe to a service on hive you had to either pay upfront for a long period of time (eg: a year), send a transfer every month or worse: trust their active key with the service (NEVER DO THIS), which was a pretty terrible UX for want to build businesses on top of hive and benefit from one of our main selling points: fast feeless transactions. Now with recurrent transfers users can simply set a recurrent payment, and every time it hits their desired frequency, the money is sent from their account. It's a much simpler UX similar to one you're see on web2 payment solutions like paypal

New community types

Part of the roadmap for communities is to empower community owners to fine tune who can post or comment in a hands-off fashion as the software takes care of everything, when previously you'd need to be there all the time to moderate posts/comments. This enables them to create paid communities, enforce quality by vetting quality writers or whatever else you may find interesting ! This also means it's very easy for community owners to build systems on top of it, want your community to only be accessible if the user owns a specific NFT ? Or if they have an active recurrent payment to you ? No problems !

If you want to read a bit more about it:
https://peakd.com/hive/@howo/communities-is-getting-an-update--what-to-expect

RC delegations

If you've joined hive in the past two years you probably heard a decent bit about this one. RC stands for resource credits, whenever you do a "free" transaction you spend RC, but unlike other chains like ethereum, it's free and recharges over time. The more Hive power you own, the more total RC you have to spend. And for the longest time Dapp developers had a bit issue when onboarding:

Either you make users pay for their hive power when you onboard them, which is going to drastically hinder your growth, or you have to delegate hive power to them, which means people will try to abuse it by registering hundreds of accounts to get free hp and self vote. We've seen this play out times and times again and the solution that most dapp developers has been to police and check every new subscribers. Which obviously is a lot of wasted time and money that should instead be spent on buidling.

Rc delegations allow you to delegate RC but not hive power. allowing users to execute transactions and try out dapps, but without any monetary power. It also can be executed with a posting key as opposed to an active key for hp delegations, so should this be executed by a bot, you no longer need to expose your active key to an online environment (eg: a server)

Other things

Obviously big features isn't the only thing I do. I also work on smaller things, low hanging fruits, bug fixes etc here's some examples:

On top of regular core development, I host a monthly meeting where all the core hive devs sync on things and write recaps that you can find on my blog, eg: https://peakd.com/core/@howo/core-dev-meeting-55

Finally, when I get the chance I help developers or write documentation eg: Hivemind / HAF how to save and restore the database for development purposes

Payment

Despite rising inflation, I fel comfortable with the current pay and thus won't increase.

Therefore the proposal the same: 330 hbd a day for a year.

Voting:

Here is an easy link to vote on the proposal :

https://peakd.com/proposals/304

You can view all the proposals on: (make sure to vote on the upcoming one and not the old one though !)

https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
https://peakd.com/proposals

Closing words

If you have any questions, please feel free to ask them in the comments !

@howo

Sort:  

are the new communities live yet?

They are and aren't 😅. The api nodes support it, but the front ends haven't updated yet

ok. As long as I can get to the API's that will work.

Thanks for all your efforts. Can we clone you to speed up development?

!BEER

I'm working on it 😄

Vote, thanks for all the hard work!

Thanks for all the time and effort you put in Hive!

What do you plan to work on for the next 1 year?

It's a little hard to tell ahead of time because priorities tend to shift over the year (that's why I prefer not to give a bullet point roadmap)

But to give you a board idea:

Right now my focus is to build the rosetta API for Hive https://docs.cloud.coinbase.com/rosetta/docs/welcome so that we can get listed on Coinbase.

After that I will be back working on communities and hiveD (the core blockchain protocol), there are a bunch of general optimizations to be done both in terms of performance (eg: we are planning on removing reputation calculations from hivemind to put it into its own HAF app), but also in general usability, one example could be a feature I'm working on to add reasons why a post a muted in a community so that front ends can improve UX for end users. Here's a non-exhaustive list of other features that I'm considering in no specific order: Recurrent transfers tied to communities / Decentralized badges / beneficiaries-led communities

this sounds like good stuff! Keep up the great work, and thankyou for everything you have done so far

Would love it if HIVE got listed on Coinbase. I think it would do wonders for visibility while teams like INLEO continue to build decentralized exchange functions.

voted. good luck!

Thank you.

I have supported your proposal.

Support approved 👌🏽👌🏽👌🏽

Thank you for the good work on hive, keep up the good work. have a great day and week ahead.

Thank you for calling my attention. Supported your proposal.

Thank you for hard-working. I am not a digital person. I will vote but How I can vote for your proposal?

Go on this page: https://peakd.com/me/proposals/304 And click support on the right :)

image.png

Voted,
Thanks for the dedication and hard work!

Thanks for your contribution to the STEMsocial community. Feel free to join us on discord to get to know the rest of us!

Please consider delegating to the @stemsocial account (85% of the curation rewards are returned).

You may also include @stemsocial as a beneficiary of the rewards of this post to get a stronger support. 
 


Hey @howo, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

Oh! How many things have you been doing, congratulations. I didn't know you, but it's never too late.
I hope your successes continue and grow in this chain.
Good vibes.

Glad to have you on board!

good job

You’ve been on this chain for seven years and you’re still relevant
Keep it up with the good job!

"Continuing as core developer, offering expertise and dedication to Hive."

I love and use the RC delegation feature: it's super useful to manage more accounts without splitting my HP! :)

Curated by @arc7icwolf.byte for the #LearnToCode community.

You have my vote @howo! Thank you for all that you have done for Hive.

I've started asking awkward questions to proposal creators, to make sure there's an underlying business case, how the HBD requested is justified, how success can be objectively measured etc. Not because I want to be difficult, but because as a part-owner of Hive (however small), I want to be comfortable that the DHF is being spent wisely and we're getting a return on the investment.

@howo - this is the only one where I don't feel a need to ask any questions because it's well enough explained and the benefit is pretty obvious. Nice 😀 You've got my vote (again...).

I'd love to see us listed on Coinbase, I think if marketed correctly it could do a huge amount to increase our market cap (through price and new investment) and bring in new Hivers.

Thanks for what you do @howo!