You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Envisioning the Hive Open Mic - A Proposal for Musicians and Music Appreciators

in #proposal4 years ago

The OpenMic thing was replaced by #sonicgroove, quite some time ago.
Click here to see recent posts with that tag:
https://peakd.com/trending/sonicgroove

SonicGroove also has a Discord server, where people can talk to each other in real-time and share posts. https://discord.gg/ZRAAkff

Sort:  

I looked more closely into the #sonicgroove tag just now. Based on what I see, it looks like people are just casually using that tag for their own random music posts. But this is different from the Steemit Open Mic, which was a massively engaging event, with clear organization, weekly announcements, curated lists—a major celebration of fine songwriting and musical talents.

Am I missing the bigger picture? Yeah, it's possible. I've been on a Steemit hiatus for about 6 months, and then rejoined once Hive arrived. I'm sure that there's value in the Sonic Groove movement, whatever it is, although my first impression is that it feels very ordinary to me. The open mic was extraordinary. It was substantial. Do you know what I mean? I believe there's something more we can offer to musicians, with a Hive Open Mic.

That might be how it is going now, but when SonicGroove first started, they had weekly Curation Posts and concerts in their Discord. I've not checked to see if all that is still going on or not. But there's probably plenty of room for your revival of OpenMic, regardless! We have so many great musicians on the blockchain! Good idea!

Nice, I sure appreciate the encouragement, as well as the commentary. In fact, I'm pretty new to Peakd as well, and so it's helpful to have your reminder here about that. Thank you.