My Childhood memories.

in #prose7 years ago

image
The river flows on, the sky rains, the sun occasionally appears. Such is the natural flow of life in Nigeria.
When one moans about the weather, one is often "pulled up" about moaning as many countries need rain. It reminds me of being a child of the seventies and sixties ,when many were starving in other countries and we were told to appreciate our food and eat it.
I must say, it didn't make it taste any better if it was awful.
I was used to good food, beautifully cooked by my both my grandfather and grandmother on different sides of my parents. It tasted delicious so I ate it, but my mother always got in first to make sure granddad didn't over salt the potatoes or I wouldn't have eaten them.
Such that carried on and my mother followed her mother and father's recipes, as my dad followed his mother's.
I always remember this as a child, the delights of different tastes and different ways of cooking. Everybody had different methods but they were all delicious ( Without too much salt. ).
Granddad's stew in blue iron pots, grandma's creamed rice pudding ( different grand parents ) and so carried on. I was taught to cook as my parents did and it is a fine art.


![image]()
I would happily send those delicious delights, cheaply made, but wholesome to all, but life doesn't work that way, but it should. It was easier to grow your own vegetables in the past, but life has changed massively. I would donate everything I eat to those who need it if I could, and they can have some of our rain too, but the world does not work in that way. None of this involved very much money, rather just a way to make the best of what you had. I pray for rain in countries that don't get enough, I pray for people not to starve or have awful lives, but that can exist anywhere for many different reasons. I pray everyday for all as that is who I am. I do my best and have no more than that to give.
Sort:  

Wooooooowww, great memorise

Yes ooh @sixtusinfinity you can drop yours

Bro your comic no be small

This post has received a Bellyrub and 0.15 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @michaelcj. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

Wonderful narrative.
"It was easier to grow your own vegetables in the past, but life has changed massively."
This is true worldwide i would far say. The over farming is leeching the soil of nutrients... :(

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by michaelcj from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 2.51 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @michaelcj. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness