You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is the sexiest accent in the world?

I had a similar experience growing up but from the other side... I was born and raised English, but having lived in and around Pretoria all my friends were Afrikaans, Afrikaans church, Afrikaans daycare... you get the picture.

Kids can be cruel, but the silver lining is that my Afrikaans got to the point were most people don't believe me when I tell them I'm English (Imagine the shock and horror when people find out that "BraaiBoy" is actually English).

P.S. I can confirm that foreigners love our accent... I've had many a GIRL by ME drinks while travelling just to chat and listen to the accent :-) SCORE!

Sort:  

Hahaha. I guess it goes both ways. I am glad that your accent got you somewhere😉I love it when english people learn afrikaans, it's very respect worthy