You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SOMEDAY’S COMING

in #proverbs7 years ago (edited)

"I hope you don't feel disrespected, I think a person who tries to help is the one most worthy of respect."

Not at all. Thanks for your reply.

I did not grow up a Christian. My family - brothers and sisters are in all sorts of trouble because of drugs and alcohol. My mom was a bartender. My step dad was an professional rodeo cowboy and an alcoholic. I became a Christian at the age of 21 and it has saved my life. I believe ANYONE can benefit from faith.

However, I too am afraid of how some within Christianity manipulate others with their faith.

Sort:  

dude right! The prosperity gospel thing is nuts. Some churches are discriminatory and lead their followers to think that way.
The Mormons would not have black people in power until 1978. I went to a church once when I was little that was overtly antisemitic. All groups have the power to lead folks to do questionable things. Deviating from basic tenements like kindness and respect and getting political is almost asking for trouble.

No argument here. :-)
Still, faith in God, and following the Word of God according to the dictates of one's own conscience is a healthy thing. I do not require anyone to agree with me. I only ask they have a solid, well thought out and studied reason for their position. My position is that there is a God and we must all give an account to Him one day. Heaven and hell are literal and the eternal souls of all men and women will go to one or the other and that one's faith in Jesus Christ is what makes the difference.

I see your Heaven/Hell as a metaphor but either way a clear instruction to be nice.
Where do you and yours fall on the homosexual issue.

I interpret the Bible according to historical/grammatical rules. It is to be taken literally unless the Bible itself tells me otherwise. Jesus made it very clear that heaven and hell are not metaphorical. If Jesus was wrong, then I would agree with anyone that we ought to toss the whole book!
We accept Romans chapter one to be the biblical position concerning homosexuality. I recommend a book entitled "Born That Way After All" by Johnny Nixon as an answer to the difficulties those with sexual identification issues.

Not everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved

Your have some allies in all sorts of groups and countries!

Westboro Baptist Church comes to mind.

http://www.pewglobal.org/2013/06/04/the-global-divide-on-homosexuality/

Where did Paul stand on slavery?

Since Baptist is a description anyone can claim if they choose, it is meaningless to associate any Baptist church with any other, except on its doctrine, spirit and practice. Westboro Baptist hold destestable doctrines and practices.

Paul's experience with slavery is so far removed from what is our perceived experience (perceived because no one living in the USA has experienced it) that it is not productive to have that conversation without defining terms.
I gladly claim to be purchased by Christ, the spoils if you will, of His victory over my old masters, sin and the devil.
I do believe that everyone who honestly calls on the name of the Lord, understanding who the Lord is and what it means to be saved, will be saved.
Romans 10:9-13