You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 34 | Demons, Possession & Exorcism

in #psychology6 years ago

Spooky indeed, I am not a fan of horror films and avoid supernatural plots completely!

I think I have attached a stigma to comparing myself to others and I'd times feel this isn't the right thing to do. From your reply though, perhaps I have been looking at it, or at the least the 'wrong' people, to find the inspiration from and that's why I sometimes feel 'guilty' for doing this.

e.g. Comparing to those who are suffering and telling yourself 'well nothing can be that bad', apposed to looking at people who have fought through suffering and learning from their example.

Is the first example the 'wrong' way to look at aspect of life, I wonder?

Sort:  

First things first Asher :)

Not comparing ourselves to others. I am truly against that! Learning from others, from both their failures and successes (just like you said). But, this should not exclude learning from our own failures and successes too! As for comparisons, if you are ever going to compare yourself with someone, that should be you, BUT who you were yesterday! Because if anything I believe in a life were we always strive for an improved version of who we are. Even if that means "oh! I smoked one less cigarette today"; or, "oh! I learnt this lesson from that person's experience" :)

Right, I understand. Learning from others and comparing to yesterday's self - I can work with that.

I shall let you know in 7 days if these 7 days have heeded this advice 😁

Please do 😉 Looking forward to it!