You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 60 | A Journey Through The History of Madness.

in #psychology • 5 years ago

Hello @leaky20 😊

This is how I understood that hysteria was rationalized and theorized by Freudians.

it was a females disfunctional sexual drives and desires that led to their hysteria.

I was unaware that there had been a shift in the way it was perceived because of socio-polotical influence. Thank you for all that info :)

But, I believe that social politics always play a role in the way mental health is accepted and perceived in instances which involve a perpetrator and a victim. Then, key aspects become (1) the way perpetrators can be shown to be bad (or mad) - something which depends on their social status, gender and race, and (2) what was the victim's part in their becoming a victim - e.g. was it a housewife or a sex worker?

It's upsetting to see that not even diagnosis escapes bias!

Ps: not sure whether you saw the message I left you a couple of days ago about Haidt's video. Just in case you didn't. It's awesome, as all things Haidt! thanks so much for directing me to it ;)

Wishing the same to you, your wife and the doggies.

Sort:  

Well, that was according to the book I read anyway (i.e. Trauma and Recovery by Judith Herman). That's so true what you said about social politics always playing a role when there is a victim and a perpetrator. Great point.

I actually didn't see that comment about the video. The app that I use (Partiko) has been quite buggy lately. The notifications for votes and comments/replies stop coming in for a few days then I get like 100 or so all at once Haha. I'm glad you liked it. I found it quite interesting and will probably read his book - at some point.

Posted using Partiko Android

😊