You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Perceptions of Jordan Peterson. Reflections after the lecture in Iceland

in #psychology • 6 years ago (edited)

Hello my dear 😊 It is always nice to hear from you :)

But first, let me thank you for having a look at that post.

As for Jordan Peterson ... I happen to know more his work, than what has been said about him out there. I like very much how he integrates the social world, biology, history and even religion to psychology. And similarly to Saunter here, I identify with this sort of approach very much, as I believe that as individuals we can draw lessons from each and all of those contexts. Is that scientific? No. Do academics like that? No. But then again, it is not them he is addressing through his social media, talks across the globe and self-help book (on the contrary, his papers on child development are the result of rigorous research and scientific methods).

So, that leaves us with the general public. Now, we live in great times where people can manifest their true selves and voice their heartfelt opinions. What an achievement for the minorities! However, for them (the minorities) to get here much suffering took place. And perhaps, because of people who 'look like' Peterson. Consequently, there is very little tolerance towards anything that is not in accordance with them, especially when it comes from those who 'look like' Peterson!

For example, Peterson is an advocate of the inherit biological differences between men and women. Feminists and other women alike perceive this as him putting us down. But, really, what he never said, as far as I know, is that being different put us automatically in a better vs. worse position. The past tells us that. Not Peterson. Indeed, he says women should have children, that they shouldn't wear make up in the work environment, and gives his reasons for that. For me, those are nothing more than his personal opinions; which, whilst I find outrageous I respect because they are honest.

And, I think that is our problem, overall. We only like 'honest' when it coincides with what we think. When someone like Peterson exposes himself the way he has done and finds himself having to answer questions that touch on incredibly sensitive topics ... well, he is bound to offend people. Then, the division sets in. I have personally felt offended by some of his opinions. Still, I have learnt to look at people from a wider lens, and I also respect individuals who take responsibility for what they say. I think Peterson does that quite well.

Oh! You see... you make me 'talk' my dear :) And, I am not really a talker!
Anyways ... here is a Monday kiss for you 😘

Sort:  
 6 years ago (edited) 

As always, you are a delight. Please do talk. I'm not much of a talker, either, but I do appreciate individualism and I think labels can be a kind of tyranny. They don't allow for subtlety or nuance, which truly characterize thought and human interaction. I remember being mortified when I read about Goethe's personal life--because I thought it did not reflect well on him. But his work is still brilliant, and valuable. The same with Robert Frost. He was apparently a cruel husband--but a prolific and effective poet. So...life is not yes or no. There are, of course, some views and behaviors that would invalidate someone's opinions for me. I don't expect to find that in Peterson. But I will let you know. Thanks for the 'conversation' :)