You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 43 | The Corrosive Effect of Time on Love

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Approaching love from the different angles you presented here would be a most interesting study to conduct! What a great book such content would make. Perhaps one we could write together 😏

Alexander, I couldn't believe when I read your personal views of love.

I have discussed this extensively with my husband, and some peers and even written something about it.

love doesn't exist. At least not the romantic kind we were brought up to want

I didn't have this insight as young as you did. But, this is something I have realized in my mid 20's through observing the way my friends and family members (and myself) approach relationships; an not only the start of relationships, but their ends too.

As for your last paragraph, I am pleased about the way you elaborated your first statement further. And based on the people who I have talked to over the years, I concluded that, that is very much the case. Love decreases over time, largely, because the 'ideal person' the individual gets married to becomes more and more real with time.

Sometimes, it seems to me, people have a real agenda. I've seen it in my family. They want a partner, a house, children, etc.. etc.. and getting that for some people comes first than actually getting to know someone who you could potentially really love for whom they are, and not for fulfilling a role that meets social pressures and expectations.

Have a great weekend :)
All the best to you always.