You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 34 | Demons, Possession & Exorcism

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Hello Dear Erika :)

How wonderful to hear from you again! I hope everything is fine with you. As for me, life only has just returned to normal. April and May were absolutely demanding months, both in the personal and professional levels! But, I, somehow, managed to survive 😅

Now, to your wonderful comment:

I mean, where do people get their inspiration from, even if they're crazy (or at least enter some kind of space that most people don't usually have a door to)?

I like your analogy of the 'door'. Although, I don't see the manifestation of the phenomenon discussed here a result of inspiration; but rather, of trauma. Sadly enough :(

Somewhere I read that the strange in a tribe were treated more like special people by the tribesmen and in their strangeness were given a respected status that was less aimed at healing them but at accepting them as they were.

This is truly an interesting observation. Throughout my readings about hallucinations I came across the different ways they are/were regarded in distinct cultures and times in history. I do think the stigma there is today towards such occurrences are a consequence of first, the arrival of Christianity; and the, the arrival of science.

I am pleased to hear you agree with the idea of facing our fears I exposed here. This is something successfully applied in CBT, and also a notion highly advocated by those who believe in healing through mindfulness.

Finally, you raised most interesting questions at the end of your comment :). Further, the following sentence actually made me smile. I love it!

understanding madness is also always about understanding and recognizing myself

I think this could be applied to each one of us. The difference is, only very few people are able to recognize the fine line that separates madness from sanity, a line which we wobble on through our entire lives !

Much love to you my dear.

Sort:  

Apart from the fact that these are traumatic experiences, I find the aspect of creativity remarkable. To the extent that people look for such interesting solutions in this respect, even if they are not aware of it. To bring this to consciousness and to use the wind for the sail is what I meant. Do you not think that every pathological potential does not also bring with it the necessary salutogenesis? Those who let voices speak for their illness can be given the opportunity to make them sound for their health, so that in the end they only get one that no longer makes it necessary to deal with many personalities. At least where there can be a cure. ... It probably needs a very stable and creative therapist, in order to dance this dance neither too pressing nor too laxly.

Yes, true, what you say about the fine line.

I am good, my life tends to be a slow river or so I prefer it to be. :)

Much love to you, too.