You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 27 | Discussing Misconceptions about Psychology

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Hello @soleil-research :)

Thank you very much for such an interesting comment. I am fascinated by the observations you made here! I can relate to them in the way that they remind me of some of the discussions I've had.

To answer your questions - from your first paragraph.

Well, I have encountered people who believe in both that the industry CREATED mental illnesses and that the drug companies push drugs that come with serious side effects that can then become the causes of other illnesses.

Believe it or not, some of these people are actually educated in many ways. I have had the most pleasant conversations with some of them, about other topics though. But, unfortunately, yes ... they just have this deep belief that the 'big companies' (including anything from the pharma industry, to banks, to the entertainment industry) are just there to profit from us. In order to do so they ever 'create mental illnesses'.

Like I said, it only concerns me because the stigma out there is already too much and this sort of belief spreads even more prejudice towards those living with mental illnesses :/

Thank you once again for taking the time to stop by and comment :)
All the best to you.