Sort:  

In a way, yes.

I am usually fairly cynical, when it comes to these things, which makes me a difficult guest at any kind of religious meeting. Taking the ten commandments as an example, people take them as a message given by god telling us how we should live our lifes so that we can join him in paradise.

Meanwhile, I look at these rules and can't help but think that someone just used religion as a leverage to enforce the most basic guidelines to get a functioning social structure going. Now how would the world be today if these never would have existed? We might never know.

Lennon-esque. I suppose we might never know. I wonder, how do you feel about Confucianism? Evidence states that China does so well now because of how Confucianism relates to their learning philosophies. Not a plug for myself, but I wonder if you'd also find it an interesting read. Some philosophies say that the way we educate our youth perpetuates power of the state. Do you feel the same way about Eastern traditions?

It's 3.27 am over here now, so I really need to get some sleep. If I remember I read your post tomorrow.

I don't know much about Confucianism aside, but chinese people have an entirely different work, live and learning ethic than ours, a better one I would wager.

Fair enough! You have no obligation to, I just wonder what you'd think. Have a good rest.