You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 43 | The Corrosive Effect of Time on Love

in #psychology6 years ago

You're welcome. Your insight, gently offered, often brightens the day.

I've been married for a long time now. My husband and I have shed so many skins, gone through so many stages. Yet, from time to time, we remind each other of our naive selves and the pieces of those selves that remain. We love those memories, and, as you say, the people we have become. But between then and now there were major challenges.

As for Tolstoy. The classics helped me get through high school. I needed a wider view of the world than my home or community gave me. It turns out, the people who wrote those books were less wise than I thought. But I can accept that and still appreciate their genius. It's just startling, and disappointing, when an icon steps off the pedestal and assumes human form.

I appreciate your comment, and your warm wishes. I look forward to reading so much more from you. But until then, enjoy your vacation!