You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 26 | Depression – Where to Draw the Line?

I almost feel guilty writing a comment, seeing this huge wall of text under your post! You should hire a comment-answerer.

(Hey, wait a minute, "irritability or feelings of inappropriate guilt". Hmm...)

Overcoming Mild Depression – exercising

Let's not forget eating well! Exercise is rather easy compared to the research and actual cooking people must do in order to feed themselves properly according to current nutrition science. Who knows how many depressions might be caused by bad eating.

My own small "obsession" when it comes to depression, because I read a lot of books and love art etc. etc., has to do with how many very creative individuals I highly suspect suffered from what might be seen as constant low-level depression. I generally don't like this cultural climate where being the slightest bit sad is seen as a bad thing. I believe it shows a more intelligent and sensitive individual.

Treatments have a lot to do with the therapist-client relationship, meaning: a person comes to the therapist, complains, the therapist labels it a problem because the client is complaining, the client gets medicated, and the problem is fixed. So, for instance, a person suffers from losing a parent or a partner more than 6 months, so he has to be treated, cos 6 months is a waaay long time to grieve a loss!

But how about the person who loses someone, literally or because of a breakup, and doesn't shed a single tear? That person, I think, is a loony! Who's gonna medicate that person! He'll never be a client, so he "functions" in society, so he doesn't have a problem. But put him in a society where his lack of feeling causes him to be ostracized, and then his lack of social life will land him at the therapist's door.

So I have a slight problem with how all these issues are defined, what counts as a "disorder" or problem etc. That needs much analysis, and I'm sure there's plenty of people doing that.

I read this quote today on fb, and though I don't like who said it, I like and identify with what is said:

19598577_1570354409684737_593343795288631765_n.jpg

This brings up another big issue, which is that the therapist treats the individual, because he doesn't have enough power to treat the society as a whole.

Anyways, gonna stop here!

Sort:  
You should hire a comment-answerer.

Ahahahahahahah .... Ahahahahaha ....

You are not the first one to call my attention to the importance of a well-balanced diet for good mental-health. And, I am going to to tell you exactly what I said on my previous answer : Even though this is something I put in practice in my daily life, It is easy for me to leave aside because the vast majority of my journals and books don't even mention it! Shocking right? I shall address this on my future posts. You guys do keep me in check! :D

The observation you made about the person who loses someone and doesn't feel sadness ... etc... is great. It takes me back to the writings of one of my favourite psychologists. He says something in the lines that feelings of sadness and fear represent a mature, well-developed emotional system. But, then, wat are Western societies doing with it? Medicalizing it! This is what I said about this on a previous post:

However, the Western world has technicalized suffering and turned sadness and fear into pathologies that need treatment.

Thank you so much for sharing this most extraordinary quote, it adds a lot to this discussion!
All the best to you @alexander.alexis. I really appreciate your constant support! :)

Do note that Ted Kaczynski, who wrote the quote, is the Unabomber! I guess he had some issues, but it doesn't take away from the fact that he left us some interesting writings with some very good points.