You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introduction to Psychology in The Corporate And Cyber Security

in #psychology6 years ago

The psychological implications of being subjected to a polygraph test when applying for a job might not worth the test in the first place. Any act or measure that seems abusive and intrusive by the candidate might backfire and affect the selection process. For example I am a very honest person, I can't lie even if I want to, but I would be profoundly affected by a polygraph test during the selection process. And I could turn the job down without much thinking. It instills distrust. Perhaps that positions such as CFO or CEO or higher management positions would be better suited for a polygraph test.
This being added, we all know that the polygraph is not a very reliable method of uncovering the truth and should not be used as a conclusive method - I have now looked at your account description and I realized you probably know all this :D

Corrections: "in it’s corporate" - its.
I liked your article. Well written, easy to digest even though I am after a whole day of work. I majored in IT security so many of the concepts I got from there. Cheers!

Sort:  

I know that in some countries the polygraph method is not accepted in the pre-employment area.
However in my company we examine hundreds of job candidates on a monthly basis.
Trust me, the polygraph does work when it is used by trained professional. The role of the examiner plays an enormous part in the procedure. I have explained it in my previous articles.
Thank you for your comment, it is much appreciated.