You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Please Stop Saying You When You Really Mean I

in #psychology6 years ago

I feel it can be an improvement in many cases, as long as we're still careful not to impose our beliefs and perspective onto the experience. Even "should" can feel a little oppressive to me in some circumstances. I feel if we use caution and add disclaimer words like "sometimes", "often", "could be", etc. we may avoid this, but it is still important to me to use the "I" when speaking from a personal opinion or perception.

Sort:  

True. I only say "should" to others when talking about myself or suggesting to them something I feel they can do that would help them out. Language is an important tool, though! I'm still trying to cut back on cursing.

That's another topic I've been thinking about writing on. Perhaps you will give me the inspiration to move on it. I don't believe their are curse words. I believe it's the intention behind them that makes them a curse or not, not the actual word.