You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 36 | Shaun the Sheep & Marriage

in #psychology β€’ 6 years ago

Pause for Reflection - Take a minute to think about the way you dealt with the last criticism you received from your spouse. How did you react?

1 – Abi, I got all defensive. 😲

πŸ˜„πŸ˜„ me and my husband have been together for 20 years... 13 years as boyfriend/girlfriend and 7 years as married couple, and as years go by we're becoming more mature in terms of the issues we've had, and before when we argue we will nit talk for couple of days but now, only minutes and the issues are gone either we talked about it or we ignore it,

When it comes to issues sometimes I am the one talking and talking and my husband was listening, and sometimes it is vice versa,

Heart rate down, a quick reflection and a couple of deep breaths later I pronounced to my husband β€˜You are correct. What can I do to make things better?’

I hope I can do that someday too, ☺️
But why it is really hard sometimes to admit that my husband is right.... 😳😳😳

Thank you for a great reading ms. ABI.. 😘😘😘

Sort: Β 

Hello Dear @avhyaceulip 😊

Congratulations on your time together with your husband. You two, sure, are doing many things right to keep things going! It is great to hear you guys have managed to improve things; and being able to continue talking when there is an issue is a great step forward! Well done you both! :D

But why it is really hard sometimes to admit that my husband is right....

I believe you are getting there, you said you are able to listen to your husband when he talks. I see this as being half way there. In my opinion, there is one main reason why a partner has difficulties accepting that the other one is right: Pride. It is very important that we don't let our ego to get in our way to improvement. Being humble every once in a while is a grand gesture.

All the best to you and to your family!
😘

I will practice now being humble, you are right pride is the reason, i always want to be the right one heheehe.. Thank you so much ms. Abi for being a great advisor.... 😘😘😘