Autism: More than an intellectual disability?

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Are persons with Autism more evolved human's vs neurotypicals?

In keeping with my current study on Autism,....

I came across this video of Saffron, a girl with autism. Her mother thought the doctors were "describing an extraodinary child", not a disability. This inspiring interview by The Guardian confirms my bias and it is too important not to share. <3


Indulge me on my thought-train...

I've always wondered if autistic persons were really more advanced than neurotypicals.

Really, gifted and special.

Indigo children if I may.

The noise (smell, sensation, frequencies, visuals, etc) of this world perhaps too overwhelming to their delicate evolved senses, causing certain (sometimes adverse) reactions. It is sensory overload.

Perhaps there are more than five senses, and majority of humanity isn't yet evolved to discover.
Perhaps there really are different worlds, realities, senses, beings, gifts, talents, humans, etc.

Perhaps there really is so much we don't know.

Imagine if we (neurotypicals) are really the autistic ones.
And that autism is the new normal, advanced version of human beings.

In a world that is tailored to support autistic persons and aid in positive stimulation and developing skills, person's with Autism could thrive! Beyond expectation even.

Right now they are being forced to fit into a world that is too low in frequency; causing confusion with communication and other development. Emotions are waves and senses are too stimulated/not as stimulated. Can't possibly be a pleasant experience or easy waters. So how do we make the world friendlier to those with intellectual disabilities?

Here are some great websites about the "other" side of Autism:

I wonder if studies have been done on relationships between persons with autism.

I can't help but think they would communicate on a level deeper than we know.

Definitely worth looking into, anyone with insight?


Image:1, 2.

Follow me @BelleKaur.

Related Article - Understanding Autism: The Spectrum and Diagnoses.

Previous Psychology Articles:

  1. Happiness: A Product of Evolution or Positive Psychology?
  2. Personal Narratives: Reclaim Your Past & Envision Your Future.
  3. Duchenne Smiles and possible Darwinian Value.
  4. The Familiarity Principle.
  5. Kindness and the Pursuit of Happiness.
Sort:  

My son has autism. The more he grows the more I see myself in him. Its scary and makes me think back to my own childhood.

I really liked this. The idea that they are just slightly beyond us is beautiful. One of my little men has ASD and we are pretty certain my other boys are also (just waiting on a diagnosis). Definitely given me another perspective.

Congratulations @bellekaur! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!