Writer’s Block is a Bitch - How to hack your brain and get inspired again.

in #psychology7 years ago

13939426_10208550711299526_5983614012666680899_n.jpg

Writer’s block is a bitch…
and it's also just a really lame belief that can be fixed in no time,
with some very simple refocusing.

Yesterday I was asking myself what would it take to get back into a daily writing habit.

I’ve been feeling kind of blocked or uninspired or something and it sucks. For a solid month there I was writing every single day and it got to the point that my blog posts were writing themselves. I would sit down, put my fingers on the keys, and BOOM - blogpost.

If you consider yourself a writer, you know that being totally in the flow with your words is pretty much the best feeling ever.

… and you also know that not feeling like you have anything to say, is pretty much the biggest bitch ever.

Side note for wanna-be writers: the only requirement for being a writer is to say that YOU ARE ONE. That’s it. (and then you might want to actually sit down and write on a semi-regular basis. The more often the better) Say it NOW - I Am a Writer

You ARE what you say you ARE. Every single time. No exceptions.
That’s just how powerful your mind is.

If you say you want to be a writer, then you will always “want” to be a writer. Say you’re a writer NOW, and before too long you’ll begin exuding the qualities of a writer. Couple that with sitting at the keys every day, and you’ll be writing consistently before you know it.

I brought this up because I’ve realized that getting ‘unblocked’ is the same process for ‘becoming’ a writer in the first place.

1wwRLGTOTSjyPmSt73o7_pineapple-supply-co-150879_1.jpg

So there I was feeling blocked and uninspired…
Thinking lame ass thoughts like these
:

  • I don’t know what to write about
  • I am stuck
  • I have writer's block
  • Fuck.
  • I was in the flow, but now I’m not
  • I have nothing good to say
  • What if no one likes what I write?
  • What if people judge me for what I write?
  • I have to figure out what to write on my own
  • I’m racking my brain
  • Writing feels hard
  • I’m not inspired
  • I wish i was inspired

UGH.

Then I typed in my online journal:
What would it take to get unblocked and write consistently every day?

The answer I got was,
Just fucking do it. And stop telling yourself you’re blocked for christ sake

(geez, is it really that easy?)

So then I asked myself:
What would I be affirming if I were totally inspired and writing messages multiple times a day to share with the world?

I then began remembering things I’ve said to myself during those inspired times, and also became aware of affirmations confirming what I’d like to believe

Such as:

  • I am a profound writer
  • I love how my blog posts just write themselves
  • I always know exactly what to say and what to write about
  • My readers devour every word I write
  • I am consistent
  • I am in the flow
  • I show up everyday in honor of my art
  • My words are delivered to me from the divine -- there’s no thing i need to do other than put my fingers on the keys
  • Words flow through me easily and effortlessly
  • My words always find the exact people who need them
  • It’s not my job to judge the message that comes through
  • My only job is to show up and put my fingers on the keys, every single day
  • I always know exactly what to write, and if I don’t all I need to do is ask
  • Shortly after I sit down at the computer i become inspired, every time
  • I need not wait for inspiration to strike - inspiration strikes when I choose to write
  • I’m always overflowing with inspirational and profound things to say

Wouldn’t you know… the words started flowing, and my block was gone.

We literally have the power to hack our brains with our words.
We speak our world into existence
In fact we’re doing it all the time, whether we know it or not.

It is no different with our art.

If you say you’re a writer, you are.
If you say you’re blocked, you are.
If you say you’re inspired, you are.

It’s truly as simple as that.

It might take some consistency of repeating these affirmations in order for them to take hold in your psyche, but I promise that if you’d commit yourself to mindset practices like these first thing in the morning everyday, before you know it you’ be writing up a storm just like a real writer ;)

Did you know that you can affirm your ideal readers right into your reality as well?
YOU CAN!

But, that’s another conversation for another day…

Until next time...

No Limits. Just Love.
~ Chandra Nicole


Let's play together everywhere!

INSTAGRAM
FACEBOOK

CHANDRANICOLE.COM

Sort:  

I absolutely LOVE this ! Being in the flow feels so damn good. Love how you flipped this and used affirmations

Right?!!
So. Damn. Good.

SO awesome how we can flipt the script with our powerful words.
thank you for this awesome comment <3

"The only requirement for being a writer is to say that YOU ARE ONE. That’s it. (and then you might want to actually sit down and write on a semi-regular basis. The more often the better) Say it NOW - I Am a Writer". Your attitude is excellent. In no time that writer's block of you will be dissolved. I've been there fore some time now, I have my stories in my head all the time but something happens that nothing pours out of my hands and fingers. Plus I am stuck with the writing of my thesis, something that would usually flow but I got paralyzed or severely distracted every time I sit in front of my computer. It makes me feel awful: frustrated, insecure, guilty (all my deadlines are by now fifth heaven's dead).

Thank you for sharing your story and experience with me! It's crazy how powerful our thoughts are in shaping our realities... once we begin to understand that we get to choose what we wish to believe and think, we are freed up to create our reality any which way we choose. Sending you tons of clarity and inspiration to you, my friend.

Love brain hacking and rewiring our thoughts to create the desired outcome. Beautifully put. Enjoying you soul much!

Isn't it the best?! Like mAgIc!