You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 26 | Depression – Where to Draw the Line?

in #psychology6 years ago

You know, I have read cases of depression online and seen some in movies, and they are usually characters from the western world. There is nothing strange about that since the movies I like are those from the western world and most of the content online about these cases originate therefrom too.

When I consider the things that make these people depressed, I usually am like, "But they can't be really serious. There is really nothing there to be depressed about." Of course, it makes me feel like a jerk for not caring deeply enough about what they were going through. I always manage to empathise and largely keep my opinion to myself.

Then I read where you said that people who had difficulties earlier in life and who suffered poverty and deprivation cope better with depression because they develop resilience and suddenly my partial disconnect with what these individuals go through begins to make sense.

I have surmounted several seemingly insurmountable difficulties in my life. So when I see a difficult or stressful situtation, I shrug and say, This? This is nothing. I have dealt with much worse and I am still here.

So what I take from this is, even though I have greater resilience than most people, their reasons for being depressed is still valid and I have to empathise with them and help any way I can.

As usual, it is a pleasure to read your thoughts. I like how you expect the reader to pay attention to every detail of your post. It kinda becomes a self-fulfilling prophesy because I can see from the comments that most people read it.

Well done and all the best.

Sort:  

@churchboy you have made not only my evening, but my entire weekend with this:

So what I take from this is, even though I have greater resilience than most people, their reasons for being depressed is still valid and I have to empathise with them and help any way I can.

The pleasure is all my to have you taking some of your time to read my writing and leave such insightful feedback :)

Thank you
All the best to you always my dear!

Thanks for always taking the time to reply my comments. Surely if people got such attention from the people around them, they would have less reasons to feel sad and eventually depressed.

Where I come from, we have a way of expressing that someone is truly special. It goes this way:

After you, it is you again.

Thanks for being that special.