You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Games Boys Play, Like Rape

Not having kids of my own, but having had close relationships with a number of kids over the years, the first thing I would do would be to make certain that the lines of communication stayed open, and that they knew they could come to me with anything.

Beyond that, an honest discussion about what rape really means, and why it is never okay, and not something to be taken lightly, much less joked about. As a previous poster said, it is the ultimate in lack of empathy, and young kids are typically pretty naturally empathetic; once they are shown how harmful it truly is, I think the majority would decline to play rape games going forward. I hope.

I've been raped. It messed me up for a long time, and like so many women, I told no one. Not my mom, not my sister, not my friends. And I blamed myself for allowing it to happen, even though I said no, clearly, emphatically, and repeatedly.

I'm sorry for what happened to you, for how your mother increased your victimization, and for how many young lives are harmed by rape and sexual abuse, through no fault of their own. We have to change societal perceptions, which won't be easy, but is vitally necessary.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this. (#metoo) I’m glad we are doing this work together. We are talking to our daughter and her school about this. I am still trying to figure out how to feel safe addressing this to the parents. Sooner is better than later. :/

I agree, best to handle it quickly, before the kids morph the story into a more sanitized version. And definitely best for all parents involved to know what they're up against.