You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Psychology of Anti-hero: Why Do We Admire Them so much?

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

I would not argue here with you, instead I would say that you have to read latest research from 2015-2017 on psychoanalysis. There are concepts which are backed up scientifically. I could provide studies if you like.

Yeah, I would really like to read these. Either link them here or send them to me on Discord :)
Granted, it's been a few years since I dug into psychoanalysis, so I'm not familiar with the current state of research.

Reading your comment I feel that you are not a supporter of the "Anti-hero admiration theory". Could you please tell me what you do not like about such concepts? If I am wrong, could you tell me what you do like ?

I'm not against the theory as a theory but as a moral justification for certain actions. I can understand, why people are attracted to such kind of behavior - because most people don't follow a strict moral code but a flexible set of rules, which can be bound depending on the circumstances. Anti-heroes make us aware of this flexibility.
Morality depends so much on its context, but the resulting actions of anti-heroes and villains are often the same - which leads to the same outcome, only justified by some kind of arbitrary flexible morality. I would not agree with you, that their intentions are admirable - or at least, they don't matter at all.
For example:
The NGO-crusade vs. GMOs is (probably) driven by good intentions - but its actions and results are terrible. I would not admire this. I despise it. Or to put it more peotically:

The road to hell is paved with good intentions.

Sort:  

Thank you for the clarification. Although I must say that you misunderstood me

I would not agree with you, that their intentions are admirable - or at least, they don't matter at all.

I don't say that their intentions should be admired. It's just what differs them from the villain protagonist.
People overall admire the anti-heroes, because of the feeling of empathy.
While heroes and villains are the extreme examples of good and evil, the anti-hero remains somewhere in between, shifting between right and wrong. This is what makes them related to us as viewers, and in some sense admired.

I will provide the studies later !

Well, you wrote:

their intentions are admirable.
While their actions may be questionable, their motives are always pure.

This seemed pretty clear to me ;)

Be people overall admire the anti-heroes, because of the feeling of empathy.

This makes more sense in my opinion. It's mainly based on the potential of identification between the ordinary viewer and the displayed actions of the anti-hero. As you said, they are able to relate.
But I still remain with my argument, that I don't think, that's a good idea in general. Severing the connection between actions and intentions to justify the first, can bear heavy consequences.

Thanks for pointing this out, maybe I got lost in the context. I will think about how to clear this out.