You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 46 |The Thinking, Emotional & Behaviour Patterns that Characterise Us.

in #psychology6 years ago

What makes this platonification of personalities more accurate/descriptive than others? Curious as to the genetic evidence of these traits as well. Have you looked into the genetic research? Thanks!

Sort:  

Hey @eloos,

I am sorry I seem to have 'lost' your comment! I have just noticed it now as I was going through my feed double checking is everything had been replied to! Anyways, thank you for taking the time to comment ...

Now, to your questions :)

What makes this platonification of personalities more accurate/descriptive than others?

Its validity and reliability.

Have you looked into the genetic research?

Yes, but mostly to do with its correlation with psychiatric disorders. I am going to share here with you part of the answer I gave to another reader who asked the same question ;)

Over the past few years quite a few studies have been looking into the genetics of The Big Five Dimensions. Although. the ones I have come across mostly correlate the genetics of personality with psychiatric disorders (not even extroversion escaped- which genetic variation correlates with ADHD ref.). You can imagine when it comes to neuroticism ref. ! So, yes, there is now evidence of genetic variations underlying our personality traits.

Nevertheless, twin studies suggest that genetics and environmental factors are equally important when it comes to the formation of personality ref.

It was concluded that despite sharing the same genes, their different environment, parents rearing practices and education do bring changes in their personalities

I hope this has clarified any doubt you might have had.
Best :)