You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Would You Be Happier with Silver or Bronze Medals?

I actually understand this -- because it describes how I feel. "Second place" feels so degrading ... like "second best." I'd rather be skipped over entirely than have to accept some kind of "runner-up" trophy. (Yes, I know how illogical this is. I also know ... it's how I feel.)

And I can also understand why the bronzers are elated ... because they probably never expected to win in the first place, so this is a triumph for them. (And, of course, they will have seen the excellence of the winner ... and if they're honest, they know why that person took the gold and they didn't.)

I'm a pretty good judge of my own work. I know when someone else has written something better than I could do -- written the way I wish I could. And I know how "second prize" can feel like not so much of an honor. Your post gave me an interesting moment of insight. Thank you for writing it.

Sort:  

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.3$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!