You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 46 |The Thinking, Emotional & Behaviour Patterns that Characterise Us.

in #psychology • 6 years ago (edited)

Hello Professor Dantes :)) 👜

and you answer me so well that I am building probably some new neurological paths in my overly busy brain and invite you to join me to stroll with me along. (While probably I should instead go outside and build some new running tracks in the park). 😜

I follow your answer on this for the most part. I also find there is space for some further curiosity.

As I see it, those two things - personality and mood - cannot really be separated from each other. There is influence taking place - mood and personality feed each other, so to speak. For a better understanding that's what we do (separating the terms) but in the end we tend to bring them together, as you actually did, too. I agree that my personality indeed determines my mood - but then still I have a mood which will influence my results in a test.

When does it take place that a state of that quality - a neutral one - happens? Is it the case when I do things automatically, all these little handlings and actions I am doing on autopilot? But does that not leave room for thinking? And when I think is that in itself not already causing some kind of arousal with potential from very low to very high? Aren't we always busying our minds with some things? To feel neutral we therefore should stop busing the mind - or to use a better term: to gain a calm state of existence.

Here I would like to differ - it's almost crazy how much I am surprised by this polarity! I wouldn't have thought in the context of my question that a state where one's emotions are not being aroused or suppressed, could be seen as pathological. But of course, that is what also can happen. It is just the other side of the pole (or however one may define it)!

The state of existence I am thinking of is that of meditation - like being an "expert" in it. Isn't that great that you can now use the same sentence and call a masterfully reached level of meditative state of mind the same?: a state where one's emotions are not being aroused or suppressed.

🙃