You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: “Stockholm syndrome”: a Valid Psychiatric Construct, or a Label Adopted by the Media

in #psychology6 years ago

Fascinating, it is, indeed.

I like to think of another reason a victim is cooperating and creating bonds to an abuser. Which might also be deep disappointment in society and those who should have protected one from being kidnapped or harmed. Which I consider is also a mind construct but nevertheless might have its strong result.

My usual answer to all psychic disorders or diagnoses are that they show tendencies (from strong to soft) but humans often do surprise other humans with their coping to situations and given circumstances.

Within families it is different as the bonds between parents and children are also not of an absolute abusive nature but also have times and periods of love or tenderness.

Human psyche is a mystery and will always remain not fully understood - that makes it so interesting:)

I myself like it to be surprised by behavior which is not common. Sometimes it scares me, sometimes it makes me curious.

Anyhow I love the topics you choose, also, as you go with the flow when something in your work shows up and serves a theme.

Sort:  

Thank you for reading and taking time to reply, Erika !

all psychic disorders or diagnoses are that they show tendencies (from strong to soft) but humans often do surprise other humans with their coping to situations and given circumstances.

Great description. I would agree here with you. Also I would like to add that no matter scary or extraordinary, they should be studied and explained.

Perfectly done , as always.