You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unpacking Baggage - Pilots and Fathers

in #psychology6 years ago

It's not that Carl doesn't care about you, it's that Carl shields himself from having to experience that deep hurt of betrayal his Father inflicted upon him. I'll bet Carl could use a good friend who cares despite Carl's inability to risk developing a deeper relationship.

My Father was USAF. Then a Pilot for a major airline in the 70's. He committed suicide when I was 9 years old. Thankfully, I learned to let people in, or else I may have ended up like Carl.

Sorry to hear about your struggles with anger. I know how hard it can be. I was angry at my Dad and the world for a few decades.

Best to you.

Sort:  

A wise read of the situation and some good advice. Thank you for sharing your feedback and your own story. Sorry to hear about your history with your own dad. Glad you were able to get past it.

Thanks so much for reading, your thoughtful comment, and for the resteem!