You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 34 | Demons, Possession & Exorcism

in #psychology6 years ago

Very interesting piece @abigail-dantes, it was fascinating to read about Rita and what you describe as her demons, clearly she didn't see it that way. I personally believe religion and 'demonic' behaviour goes hand in hand and can trigger a psychosis in some people. As a social worker I had a case of a young woman whose mother was very religious and would condemn her to hell for choosing to do something different other than attending church on a Sunday. Notice the small letter 'h', in hell, it means nothing to me, I see it as a religious belt used to keep churchgoers tied to a belief system that relies on church numbers.

Mark Twain's quote is brilliance! Peace.

Sort:  
As a social worker I had a case of a young woman whose mother was very religious and would condemn her to hell for choosing to do something different other than attending church on a Sunday.

Oh, how sad @fiercewarrior! You know, I have encountered both scenarios: those of people who actually have found meaning and direction in their religion and community; and the ones similar to Rita's. But, like you said "demonic behaviors" do seem to be an exclusive feature of religious people.

As for your views of hell... well, I couldn't agree more. There is something not quite right about systems that rely on fear to keep people from going astray. Yeah! Twain's quote is just spot on! :D

I wish you a weekend filled with peace and joy my dear.
Thank you once again for taking time to read my work.
Lots of love to you :)

Ditto! : ) My pleasure @abigail-dantes. I've not practice social work for years but that particular case has stuck with me. It demonstrates how people can be manipulated to act in ways not conducive to their spiritual path. Peace.