You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 26 | Depression – Where to Draw the Line?

in #psychology6 years ago

Hey@abigail-dantes! I came across you @rionpistorious and thought I'd check out your posts (thank you for the upvote). In response to this post, despression has been a necessary evil in my life, and I'll tell you why. After an episode of depression, I've gone on to do great things that I never thought was possible. So where you make the point that anti-depressants may not be the answer, and maybe we should let people be, I totally agree with you. I've had mild and severe depression, on both occasions I didn't take any medication even when my doctor prescribed them! I would argue the medical profession is invested in prescription drugs for profit. I wrote about this in not so politically correct terms (ha!ha!), the title of my post is 'Fear is a business' if ever you get the chance to come over!

I'm not advocating for those on medication to stop taking them, I'm just saying that it wasn't a choice that I considered. I'm sure there are many more like me, maybe the medical professional can learn a thing or two in this regard. I'm so glad I've come across you in this debate, I've upvoted and will follow. Peace.

Sort:  

Hello there @fiercewarrior

Thank you very much for your support and also for taking the time to check my work out. Your comment is very interesting and I am very grateful to you for it. As I hope others can gain some hope and inspirations from it. I also appreciate your sensible observation at the end of your comment about those who are taking medication :)

All the best to you.