You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 27 | Discussing Misconceptions about Psychology

in #psychology6 years ago

Hi @abigail-dantes! Thank you for further insights re psychology and areas of healing and treatment. I agree, anti-depressants may not be for everyone but it can help, I know of several people who've been treated successfully with anti-depressants, and are now living successful lives.

On a positive note, the thing that I wouldn't change in my life is my spirituality, because I've learnt to be patient and accepting and non judgemental of all things, irrespective of race, age, gender or disability, whether people are good, bad or ugly.

I believe people are not born bad, it's the circumstances in which they find themselves that can determine the life choices they make. Peace.

Sort:  
I know of several people who've been treated successfully with anti-depressants, and are now living successful lives.

Thank you for saying this @fiercewarrior. You know, while medication such as ADMs is not on top of my list as the means to improve someone's mental well-being. I am truly bothered by the stigma people under this sort of people have to face.

So great to hear about your spirituality, all the things you listed in your comment are precisely what Humanistic and Positive psychologists call self-actualization ... I still am on my path there. I could not agree more with your last sentence, the environment most definitely plays a role on defining who we become.

Peace :)

Yeah that's true, people are stigmatised, it's unfortunate because like you outline in your post, we are all predisposed to mental illness in one way or the other. I think most people are afraid of what they believe to be a breakdown, which is actually a break through. When it's perceived as a 'break through' by the medical profession, I think only then there will be permission to take time out to heal from the wounds we bury.

In terms of your path to self-actualisation, from your posts and insights, I don't believe you've got that far to go! Peace.

Ohhh ... that is very nice of you @fiercewarrior :)

ps: this is beautiful :

When it's perceived as a 'break through' by the medical profession, I think only then there will be permission to take time out to heal from the wounds we bury.

:)