You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 36 | Shaun the Sheep & Marriage

in #psychology6 years ago

This is quite deep and fun to read as well. I don't think I have spent enough time in my own marriage to be able to advise anyone. Thirteen years is indeed something and by no means a great achievement in this present world.

However, one thing keeps me going with my marriage. I always see my spouse as imperfect and keep reminding myself why I married her in the first place each time things want to move south. Love is not really about all the positive attributes of your spouse, but those imperfections you have chosen to tolerate in him/her.

I think marriages fail because people believe more in falling in love than growing in love. Falling in love could be for a short term but growing in love has no time limit.

Thanks for sharing this Abii. Lots of love from here.

Sort:  

Hello @gentleshaid :)

It looks like you are inspired today! I truly like your approach of growing in love; and of course, the means you resort to make it possible 'remind yourself why you got married in first place'.

You are right. People often are unrealistic about the expectations they have from their partners and fail terribly in dealing with their flaws. But than again, when one cannot deal with one's very own imperfections, how can one deal what that of others?

Thank you for stopping by and adding this important insight to our discussion :)

Lots of love to you and your family!

YOu are welcome Abii.