You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 26 | Depression – Where to Draw the Line?

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Ah, you write again for depression ^^ When I read your posts about depression - it makes me happy :D Is this a severe form of depression when you have pleasure to read about the depression itself? This is my antidepressant. :D

In this connection yesterday I thought one thing about Nietzsche and his life and creativity. I think that his agony, which he expresses through his philosophy, acts healing for his reader. The same is true of the Schopenhauer's pessimistic philosophy. You are so depressed by reading it that after you finish you feel cured. Don't you think the truth purifies more than the positive delusions like man is good, he can handle every difficulty, and so on? Now I read the most pessimistic writer for me, Émile Michel Cioran. So morbid man I have never read before until now, but he's just great in his misanthropy and despair, he's really inspiring. Yes, most people who are happy in life with such philosophers will repulse them and consider them as crazy, but their desperate speech really has a healing character for those who suffer from such mental disorders.

About your question - it gives me new points of view that complement it :) ... and pleasure to read it :D

Sort:  
Is this a severe form of depression when you have pleasure to read about the depression itself? This is my antidepressant. :D

You have a refined sense of humor @godflesh! :D

I have never read Émile Michel Cioran. I shall write down his name and add to my list of 'books/material to be explored!'. Thank you for always sharing your vast knowledge with me. I trully respect it and appreciate it.

By the way, I found your post Yoga and Psychology: Schizophrenia and Enlightenment incredibly insightful. Thank you for bringing such quality content for the psychology tag!

All the best to you always my dear :)