You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 27 | Discussing Misconceptions about Psychology

in #psychology6 years ago

Hello my friend @abigail-dantes, I once spoke about you putting up quality and original posts with educating contents some days back and here is another wonderfully written post. Thumbs up for being original and helpful.

firstly, I must confess, I have never had this kinda lesson before and I must say that I am really fortunate to have met you. I am indeed grateful to you.

Okay, lets proceed to the real deal. Reading this post got me really surprised for I never knew that there are such misconceptions about our psychology in particular. This post has opened my eyes and I can relate to all the points you gave but being that I wont be able to write on all four examples you you listed, I will give my own experience on the one that baffles me most, HALLUCINATION.

Hallucination affects me most times, I wont deny about that 'cos I've had it a couple of times and I'm beginning to feel something is wrong. Thank God for you @abigail-dantes. here's my experience.

When i was younger, there were times I would be sleeping in the middle of the night and hear someone call my name. It seemed so real that I would rush to my parents room to answer the call but whenever I got to their room, I would meet a great surprise waiting for me, "they were still asleep", and I would say to myself, "who called me then?" and I would return to my room with my question unanswered.

This happened for nights till I got tired and reported it to my parents. My mum then told back then that whenever I hear such strange voice calling my name, i should just say "HOLY GHOST FIRE" because she believes its diabolical. So i started saying "Holy ghost" when i heard my name being called by 'someone unseen'. it then stopped after a short period.

Now I'm 20 and I still hear my name called by someone and sometimes I go to meet my Aunt or Granny and ask "if they were calling me" and the reply would be no! I still get confused when this happens but I thank God you are here to help me. I therefore seek your assistance on this.

Lastly, I want to thank you for always bringing us solid information with its pros and cons as you mentioned in the post. Please do not relent, That's I why I don't mind the length of your post, I have no other choice than to read them because I gain a lot from each one of them. Thank you for everything @abigail-dantes you are doing well.

Sort:  

I am not an expert in hallucinations @happymichael, but I am confident to let you know that there is nothing abnormal about how you experienece it. This is nothing for you to worry about or think there is somethibg wrong with you. So just you know how common it is just have a look at some of the comments here, so many say the same think 😊. I know they can be spooky sometimes, I feel like that specially when I am on my own; but it is nothing more than our brains playing a tricky on us! When you know this is easier no to get concerned about it.
Have a wonderful week 🌷❤️🌷😊

ThankGod, I was already thinking the fallen angels have my name on their list.. Thanks for the info @abigail-dantes.. You are wonderful.
Happy sunday and have a great week also my humble psychologist. 😘