You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 26 | Depression – Where to Draw the Line?

in #psychology6 years ago

I think I will fall into the mild depression category. Life gets so depressing for me sometimes. Like Luca you mentioned, I even lost interests in the things I usually love doing. Mine doesn't last up to a day most times, but when it comes I really do not feel like doing anything.

I have always been hearing about excercises - how it could help. You mentioning it again seems I'll have to start again. Endurance was my major problem when I initially started. Engaging with friends could be helpful too, but the thing is sometimes they are the reason for the depression. Imagine helping after helping a friend, he goes behind your back telling everyone that you didn't help him do anything. None of the other friends summon courage to ask you questions. This just makes everything depressing. We live in an evil world, it just seems as if depression is one of the things that comes with it.

I really appreciate your writeup, I actually always do. I'm sorry if I sounded too personal.

Sort:  

Hey @jaff8 :)

Great to see your comment here. There isn't such thing as sounding too personal here. You know, this post was the way I found to deal with how frustrated I am feeling about the whole 'Luca' situation. You cannot get much more personal than that! So, you all come here and share your experiences with me and helps me to put Luca's case into perspective.

I was interested in what you said about your friends. It does sound tricky to look for support from the very source that is making you sad, and this is why I find important to have other alternatives in life such as sports. There is A LOT to be said about it.

This afternoon I read a recent study (2015) conducted in adolescents and young adults suffering from mild and severe depression. They underwent a 5-week exercise program, they showed improved levels on depressive symptoms even 6 months after the treatment finished! Thank goodness for endorphin! :) There is enough evidence out there to demonstrate that exercise (any sort of exercise) lowers anxiety ans eases depression. The problem, of course, is to get someone in a low-mood to be active. But this is when your psychological strength and resilience should be put to work. Challenge yourself!

I am a diligent yogi and walker, as I am not a fan of hard-impact exercises and it works for me in so many levels. So, try to gather some strength (despite everything) and get that body of yours moving on a regular basis. It will surely help you to cope with the inevitable hardship of life and preventing you from getting more and more upset about things!

All the best to you :)

Thanks for all the kind words. Will try to exercise anytime I'm free now.