You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your Monkey Brain is Controlling You More Than You Think

in #psychology7 years ago

You should be proud of this post! I think it's really well done. I have to admit, though, that if faced with a veg-filled brown rice bowl and a juicy loaded up cheeseburger, I'm likely to come down with a nasty case of akrasia, lol!

On a serious note, this reminds me of the first video that I ever did, just this last fall. Making short videos had been recommended to me by a biz mentor, but I was terrified of being in front of a camera. I concocted every reason to NOT do it, and found reasons to keep putting off starting. Then that same mentor, who runs a gardening website, invited me to do a video interview. Gasp! I started typing up my usual noncommittal response (preparatory to cancelling in the future), and realized what I was doing. So I decided to use that interview as my first small step, and instead of prevaricating, I responded with a concrete date and time to do it. Boy am I glad that I did, because that was the opening that I needed to finally step in a more positive direction both with my business AND in facing really silly fears of mine. What do you know? It wasn't a tiger trying to eat me after all! Stupid monkey brain. Small steps can save the day though. I believe it!

Sort:  

Thank you so much! And that first part made me laugh! "..a nasty case of akrasia" lol.

What a great story. Proud of you for taking the plunge... I have anxiety about doing videos, too, so I have no doubt the size of that mountain you were trying to climb over. It's crazy how often this happens in life and most of the time we can look back and laugh! "Why did I think this was so bad again??" Not to mention the relief of not having the thing (whatever it is) looming over you anymore.