You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 46 |The Thinking, Emotional & Behaviour Patterns that Characterise Us.

in #psychology6 years ago

That was a fun little survey.
I had low extroversion and relatively low neuroticism which makes sense to me. I had high conscientiousness 80 and very high agreeableness 91 which also makes sense to me since I am a MSW counselor lol. In reflecting on this a bit I recognize that with others I am very agreeable but I also have a general lack of trust in people and authority so I often agree with people in the moment to avoid confrontation but then go home and think about the situation and how I really feel about it. I have a high need for control over my life so I base any decision I need to make on my own thoughts and do my own thing.
I believe that my avoidance of confrontation comes from growing up in a household surrounded by conflict.

Did you create the survey or did you find it online? It appears to be an actual study on facebook (or social media)

Sort:  

Oh no @leaky20 I found the survey a while ago (not on social media though).

We seem to be quite similar. Despite being a lower scorer than you in agreeableness (54%) I, also, sometimes find myself agreeing with people, so then things don't get prolonged; but then, I still think about it when I get back home. I understand studies suggest that we become more agreeable with age, I actually have become less. I saw the need to be more assertive!

The funny thing is, even though I am able to speak up now, I find confrontation incredibly upsetting. Perhaps, I haven't really changed. My brother is a high scorer on agreeableness too (more like you), and since you mentioned your upbringing, I believe that for us (me and my brothers) it also stems from how we were brought up.

Finally, I also feel that, in order to have peace and calm in my days, I need to have everything under control. While being organized and structured has proved to be very fruitful for me, I am the type of person who doesn't cope well with last minute situations.

Well, there you go. I used you as my counselor here for a few minutes :P

You take care and have a lovely evening! :*