Just woke up from a sleep paralysis

in #psychology7 years ago

Hey steemians,

Unfortunately tonight was awful. I went through something that many here may have suffered at least one time: sleep paralysis.

677564621191736.jpg

For those lucky ones who do not know what it is, sleep paralysis is when you wake up but your body is paralyzed.

It was 4 a.m when I woke up and couldn't move. It was super dark so I didn't know if I was awake with my eyes closed or if my I eyes was really open. When I realized that I was having a sleep paralysis (2nd time I have in my entire life) I panicked. I used all my strenght to scream but any sound came out. I couldn't also move my eyes, they were fixed in one point. That's when I started to feel the sensation that something was behind me. That sensation was growing more and more and an uncontrollable heat began to take control over my body. My heart was beating so fast that I thought he would break my ribs or that I would have a heart attack.
As I had already experienced this, I used all my strenght to keep me calm until I could move, it was as terrifying as it was the first time. This lasted for like 2 minutes but for me it was like 1 hour. When really woke up and could move I went straight to the kitchen and drank a huge amount of coffee because I would rather having an overdose than coming back to try to sleep again.
While I write this post I'm completely exhausted because I couldn't rest anything tonight.

Peace.

Sort:  

Sorry to hear that my friend. I have never experienced sleep paralysis for God sake. It sounds awful. Glad you are feeling better now :)

Thanks, hope you never go through!

it happens to many people. first, do not be afraid. https://steemit.com/research/@cristi/exploring-sleep-paralysis

Going to take a look. Thanks!