Mini Motivation #16 - Is your ladder leaning on the right wall?

in #psychology6 years ago

We all have a wall we're trying to scale, and a ladder placed against it as we climb, rung by rung.

Now, many times we observe others who are not happy when they get to the top, and sometimes we say that's just plain ungrateful.

"Have some gratitude for you've got what others don't!"

Sometimes, we may be guilty of that too, and it's others who reminded us of our ungratefulness.

But what if we are unhappy with what we get, because the ladder is leaning up the wrong wall?

Sometimes we put the ladder there ourselves - our younger selves, one that's more naive.

Other times, our loved ones, or society standards, or peer pressure were those who placed the ladder, set the path, map out the journey for us, and instructed us to follow it. Don't blame them, because they could be just re-prescribing that was prescribed to them.

Regardless, if you know that your ladder is leaning against the wrong wall - a wall where the top is not somewhere you really want to get to - then make a change today. It's better to restart the climb mid way, than be unhappy when you reach the top.

However, if your ladder is already leaning on the right way, good for you! You should now have a renewed vitality to climb faster than before.

So… how about that ladder?

Mini Motivation is my own daily strategy to inspire myself. Mostly 3 minute reads.

From Motivation, we gain Inspiration. From Inspiration, we achieve Momentum. And the rest, they say, is history.

Hope it helps nudge you a bit too in the right direction.

Oh it did? Let me know in the comments, and of course an upvote would be a nice motivation for me. :)

Stay awesome!


Wait, why's Mav posting on Steemit nowadays?

Well, unlike other blogging and social media platform, Steemit is the only platform that allows me to earn cryptocurrency when I engage with it. Yup, one Steem is about USD7, and you, too, can earn Steem Dollars every time you:

  • Create content (articles, blog posts, podcasts, videos, photos)
  • Upvote (like) other people contents
  • Comment on other people's posts
  • Have discussions, share opinions etc!

Yup, basically it's the very same thing you're doing on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc all along!

The only difference? For once you can earn a nice income on the side!

Sign up for a free Steemit account, and you can thank me by coming back and upvoting this article. And guess what, you will earn Steem too for doing that! #awesome

follow_maverickfoo.gif

Sort:  

It is good to know the right wall to lean, but how many of us realized and dare to make a change if it is not a right one?

Hey Bro, that's so true. It's interesting to know that some people, upon realizing they are on the wrong path, decided not to make a u-turn just because they have to start all over again.

For me, I rather start all over on the right path, and suffer through a wrong one.

sometimes the ladder itself is not so much the issue... It's there to be climbed... but wearing high heels doesn't make it easy to do so 😋

Wrong gears for the climb? Haha. Good metaphor though.

This amazing.. I like this post, I think my ladder is leaning on the right way.. All I need to now is to climb faster than before.. Nice post friend

Renewed passion, I like that! Have a great day, my friend.

I think the saying about enjoying the journey and not the destination holds true. Enjoy each moment along the way and then even if you don't reach what you want at the point you thought, you'll still be motivated and happy because the journey is what drives you.

Well, unless the journey is instructed by someone else.

But then again, we'll never know. Sometimes we may not see where the destination lies, and think that it's not where we wanna be. However, our teachers are those who had reached the destination, and they are the ones guiding us from afar.

This post is so important in this century. Majority follows prescribed paths, not being aware that their paths are not theirs. No one has the right to determine your life, your ladder, your wall, your journey. You are the designer of your story.

This post is a good tool to stop and reflect, are we leaning on the right wall? Ask ourselves questions as our heart already have the answer, I believe.

Our parents may meant well, but I've seen to many parents enforcing their dreams on their children. The child ended up living a life that pleases the parents, but not themselves.

As parents, we can only guide and nudge a bit if needed, but ultimately, the child has to make his/her own paths.

Of course, the joke is that, parents need to be rich enough to pay for the first few mistakes :)

I agree so much with you @maverickfoo
Parenting is the foundation of society, I believe. Whatever the parents taught or said to their children is the children's reality. And they bring those reality with them. If no proper exposure is given, their parents is all they believe.

I believe it is up to us to change that.

It's better to pay now when risk is still small right? ;)

In love the analogy of the ladder possibly leaning on the wrong wall.

Thanks. Can't take all the credit. John Maxwell was the first to give me that metaphor. :)

Yes climb success based on the fundamentals of human rights in society, and we are the one who controls the ladder of success and reach the ranks of thought, mind and plan Thank you for the wonderful publication

Some times the desired wall will kill you, and the wall of unhappiness is survival, sad but true
But if there is life, there is hope

What about those who wants to climb a ladder but doesn't know which wall to lean to? Should they try their ladder against every single wall out there? Or should they just sit still and wait...

I'd suggest trying it all, what about you @maverickfoo?

What about finding out what you really, really want, first? Then choose the wall that can bring you to your goals and ideal life.

Any ways on how to find out what I really, really want @tifaong?

Thank you for asking @aaronmcheong
Start by asking yourself powerful questions and visualizing.

  1. What have you done or could have done that makes you truly happy and satisfied?
  2. How does your ideal life look like? Visualize and draw pictures in your mind.
  3. What does success means to you?

If you're unsure what makes you happy, it could mean you've never done anything that makes you happy. You gotta do different things in your life to find what really makes you happy.

Ask yourself powerful questions because I believe you hold the answer.

Your whole article is so "metaphor" lol
I can only change my ladder if I know my ladder is leaning on the wrong wall, what if i do not know the wall is the wrong wall and i continue climbing?
What is your opinion on getting to know your right wall?

I have the same question too @williamsyee
Reflection and emotions are key here. The quote says "happiness is getting what you want".
I reflect on my journey, every big decision made, every road taken and my feelings that comes with them.

  1. Am I happy with my current situation?
  2. Am I happy with what I have right now?
  3. Am I moving towards my dreams in my current situation, job, etc.

Happiness is an indicator whether your ladder is leaning on the right wall or if you're using the right ladder 😁