You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 35 | Talking About Naughty Children: Treading on Egg Shells

in #psychology6 years ago

I'm just reading this now ... I haven't been going through the feed much recently and I thought, where is Abby's friday post LOL

you win Lilly

Yea that's just terrible to say, handing over power

After drinking more water than initially intended I still had nothing to say.

You're hilarious :D :D

All I had to do was ask!

Loved it! yet that is so difficult for parents to do when drawning inside all the messy behaviour. I used to watch a show called Nanny or something, excellent stuff about how to properly connect with kids and make sure they understand what and when they can do things or not.

We do face troubles with our baby girl as well, who doesn't, a little trouble I think is healthy, we don't want our kids to be with low self-steem (if I'm wording that properly), but how do we make sure kids stand up properly for themselves? I want to help my girl with proper values and balanced-fighting personality. What's your take on this ? :)

Sort:  

Hello @mcfarhat :) ❤

You're hilarious :D :D

😉

So, your little one has a strong character! When they are like that they do make mum and dad work that extra hard to keep harmony in place 😊 And, here is one thing I always say to parents; it is a lot easier to convey to a young child what is acceptable and what it is not, than to a 8 - 10, or 15 year-old.

but how do we make sure kids stand up properly for themselves?

You give them a voice :) always, and always. It is very important for parent's to punish without oppressing. I believe in the 'naughty' corner approach you have seen in those programs, for example. A child should never be locked away, but should be sent to a step or little chair, and be informed that she can only rejoin the others when she calms down. When she calms down mum or dad should discuss with her why she was sent there and ask how she felt about it.

Each undesirable behavior should be dealt with in a similar way. If she is that naughty and this happens often, it is very important to create a balance through rewarding her good behavior. Like this she won't feel that life is all about punishment. She will feel that she is also valued and loved.

It is through this dynamic that parents build connection with their kids. A dynamic that shows the child 'there are limits in life that must be respected; but mum and dad are here to help you to face them because they love you more than anything in the world.'

It is very demanding indeed. But it pays off in the long term :)

Thank you SO much for taking the time to read and comment! I hope you know how dear you are to me. Lots of love to you, your wife and the little one! :*

Likewise dear Abby, likewise ! :)
Very insightful advise as always, thank you so much!
To be fair to my little princess .. she is amazing, can be naughty at times like all other kids, but when considering what I see from other kids, I have an angel LOL, still I don't let her get away with being naughty and I do employ reward & punishment. The funniest thing when I tell her you won't get chocolate today, she tells me "Eva (her name) was naughty and she is not getting chocolate, okay?" gives me a big round of laughter lol

Hey we are still set to have an online laughing session, ping me when you have some time !!