Kaizen in self-development

in #psychology6 years ago

Small but steady steps almost always give results better than trying to jump above your head. Making a small step, you say to yourself: "It's very easy! I know how to do it! ". Great, it means that you already act. Therefore, each time choose a small goal that can be achieved without effort and great self-discipline.

The following simple tips will help to understand what we mean.

If you want to increase the stock of knowledge and become smarter, then tell yourself:

I will read one article from Wikipedia every day.
If you want to learn a new language, say to yourself:

I will study three words a day.
I will learn one sentence in this language.
I'll learn one rule.
If you feel alone or feel depressed:

Every day for two minutes I will think about something good.
Every morning I will write down five things, for which I am grateful.
If you feel how a sedentary lifestyle destroys your health:

I'll go down the stairs instead of going by the elevator.
Once a day I'll get up because of the worker and start doing a minute exercise.
These goals are so small that they sound funny, but after a while you will see that they are doing miracles. When these actions become a habit, it will not be difficult to increase the intensity, if such a desire arises.

4-1.jpg

Small Questions
In philosophy kaizen a special role is occupied by questions. This is very important, because if you do not ask them, you will not be able to understand what the problem is and in what areas it is necessary to improve. Many psychologists agree that for motivation it is better to ask yourself questions and answer them than order yourself to do something.

In different situations, ask yourself the following questions:

Can I buy today instead of one harmful product useful?
How can I naturally make myself healthier today?
What and where can I improve in my life?
What can I do for my self-development in these five minutes, what do I have?
This is much better than constantly telling yourself:

I must learn English.
I have to go in for sports, eat right and be less nervous.
It would be necessary to enroll in a gym.
Tell me, how often do such orders really work? All of them sooner or later take the form of "We should", that is, we say something calming to muffle the guilt, after which we continue to live as before.