You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 26 | Depression – Where to Draw the Line?

in #psychology6 years ago

Dearest abilgail,
Thank you for your upvote. You are always so kind. Sometimes I don’t really know if you get the answer you are looking for from me.

My guess is you thought I was referring to someone like Sybil with her multiple personality disorder.
Being a long recovering addict I know that many addicts compartmentalize their emotional state depending on the situation. A little like playing different roles on stage. It took years of of listening to other people talk about being honest before I was able to be honest with myself.

Some would say about newcomers, they are as honest as they can be. This is where I learned that people with mental disorders, can and do get better, by learning new coping skills or CBT, the guidance of a therapist, or NLP. Time and willingness to do the work expedites the transition.
People like myself, did a fair bit of self destruction before deducting that change was a necessity. In the beginning, excercise worked to recreate new pathways for neurons to fire, but inevitably my situation required talk therapy/group situation and anti depressants.

I also learned more positive ways to think, however life with anti-depressants looks inevitable, it works so no complaints.
I have worked with addicts that are what could be classified as down right evil and unable to be anything but manipulative, zero honesty. It is scary how many crazy people are out there.

You might just think of me as your own little nutty bag! Lol🐓🐓❤️