You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 26 | Depression – Where to Draw the Line?

in #psychology6 years ago

This is a very good post and it articulates quite a few things that I've been thinking about for long. I would say that if your depression can get to a point where you are seeing physical symptoms such as panic attacks or thoughts that could manifest in bodily harm then you should no doubt be in medication. I see a trend of more and more people self medicating these days with illegal drugs or alcohol. There are even more and more songs about self medication especially in Hip Hop. Most of these people would probably be better off taking medication under control of a phyciatrist as opposed to them just self medicating. I didn't see a mention over this in the article, but many people who experienced very traumatizing events during childhood or extreme violence at any point in life will be suffering from some form of depression. In the country I live in there is a great deal of violence and crime. I think it would be very interesting if someone did a study on mental health statistics and how that correlates with crime statistics in a country. There is a huge stigma around taking medication if you are mentally ill, but at the end of the day if it is gonna help you stay alive and function, then I don't really see a problem with that. Thanks for a cool article, I really enjoyed reading it.

Sort:  

Thank you for a cool comment @netscape!

I really like your reflection on stigma.

Best :)